Thryptomining! Thrift Store Cryptomining

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

(3 Thrift Store Computers) + (a little tinkering) = The THRIFT STORE CRYPTOMINE

computer money-1050161_960_720.jpg

I was talking with my friend at work (the real job) about cryptocurrency and he brought up his love of experimenting with old beat up computers. And then cryptomining came up... I told him there were guides online about doing it on the cheap. So here's the experiment...

THRYPTOMINING beta testing

He has 3 old systems he paid $15 for a piece...
and a couple of graphics cards from other computers which were scrapped. Nothing special... (but they meet the minimum 2GB )
He followed some step by step mining guide online and got one up and running Sunday night and within a 12 hours he made $7!
Setting up one of the other computers Monday night and I'll message him a little later today to find out where he is and what the basic specs are...
He does pay for the speedier internet service and that probably helps!
Couple of takes on this experiment (hypotheses):

  • How long before these things burn up? Not sure if he is running them 24/7 yet...
  • How much is cost vs income? The equipment purchase is a definitive cost, bit what about an internet service cap? How much does this use? Also, electricity and time? These seem minimal but who knows...
  • Was it just a 'lucky' night? Are there better times and days to run these things and get returns?

I'll let you know later today what I find out...
I have a couple of old computers in the basement and a laptop where the hard drive went kaplooey which way may end up setting up...
There's probably a bunch of posts on this already, but we're fresh to the game. SO this is our take...

If you have any other questions, leave them in the comments below and I'll get them to my buddy Ed (he's the techie).

Will we become millionaires? Yes! (probably not with this though)
As always, if you like what I put out (first foray into cryptocurrency but I do a lot of stuff about amateur adult sports leagues) please follow.
Thanks, and I'll judge by your feedback how far we'll follow this...
🎱
Swansed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63945.57
ETH 3135.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00