BEING AN AMBASSADOR OF CRYPTO

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

11.jpg

So today I witnessed on the NVOT/NVO (or whatever they are calling themselves now-that's for another post) slack, for the third time, a display of the most shortsighted thinking in the cryptocurrency sphere. It boggles my mind. IMO, it's one of the major mistakes that is made if we are going to grow crypto into an empire that can take on the banks and the USD. And that is: BEING A DICK WHEN NEWBIES ASK QUESTIONS.

Listen, I'm no Suzy Sunshine--I can be downright cutting in the right setting. But I know what I felt like the first time I sent money to an address, the first time my money disappeared and I didn't know where it was. And I appreciate the places that I could go to ask questions and be treated respectfully.

Every time I went to that NVOT slack, a newbie was being treated like an idiot--and, in fact, being called an idiot. And when I pointed it out, someone actually said "Your oversensitive". I am not overly sensitive--I just take a long view. I'm investing in your company, so if you are showing questionable customer service skills, I'm going to rethink that.

Crypto can only grow if more people use it. Some people will jump in with both feet, not looking, not reading, trying to make a quick buck. Others will creep in, intrigued but confused by how this works. However they show up, it's really up to the people who are here already to show them the ropes and set the tone. The more people who come in, the more money there is--the more educated those people are, the less we will have boatloads of people jumping ship like we saw this week.

We WANT more investors.

If we think of ourselves as Ambassadors, and point newbies to good content and good information, the better this entire sphere will do. Lastly--

The entire idea of not dealing with the banks is that they are basically unhelpful, money grubbing, elitist dicks. So why would we act like them?

Summing it all up--when you set up a forum or a chat or a slack--think about the tone you set. If it doesn't appeal to you even just on the human level, realize that being a pit of hate will affect your dollar signs at the end of the day, because people won't want to invest in you.

If you are a newbie reading this--here are some good links for info:
@kingofdew -- good video content, sage advice
@crypt0 -- same
@papa-pepper -- some crypto stuff, but really just an incredible steemit advocate and good spirit.
ethnews.com
and if you want to see how a nice community is run around a coin, go check out https://www.1337coin.net/ --seriously, they say good morning to each other on the slack every day--it's really a kind place for any newbie.


If you'd like to check out more of the articulated stained glass and stained glass panels I post please visit my website at https://www.genevievegeer.com/ . I accept ethereum, bitcoin, and lsk so email me if you'd like that! I run a small company that travels all up and down the east coast, and occasionally out to the midwest, selling at art shows. Every purchase helps sustain my business and supports my family. We are truly doing the artist thing!

Also

CHECK OUT MY "ETHER GIRLS AREN'T EASY" T-SHIRTS ON RED BUBBLE--all are available in woman's cut, I haven't been able to find any so I just gave up and designed them myself!!! I'll be doing other favorite coins soon--including everyones fav--STEEM!
https://www.redbubble.com/people/lepuppetregime/shop?asc=uScreenshot (88).jpg

Sort:  

Thanks for the info...I am new so will be checking out the links and peoples pages you have recommended.

Great-- @kingofdew probably thinks I'm a stalker at this point, lol, but he is just the right combination of optimism and realism--you don't find that a lot in consistent amounts. You'll get a lot out of his info. And Crypt0 as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60007.44
ETH 2590.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61