I pulled a very amateur move this morning

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Well I feel like a complete idiot this morning. With the crypto markets being down I have been getting invested into new coins and tokens. I bought about 30 Stratis coins and downloaded the desktop wallet last night. This morning the wallet was done syncing to the network and i sent my coins from poloniex to the wallet. I encrypted the wallet using a password that was randomly generated on a web site. I copied the pw to a notepad file and saved it. Then I encrypted and locked my wallet just getting familiar with the wallet and went to unlock it and tried to open my notepad file and kept getting an error message. The file was corrupted. Fuck me. So pretty much long story short Im screwed out these coins and i know it's not a lot of money but it is to me as i don't make much. But I guess this is just one of those lessons I won't forget. After this I printed all my passwords onto paper and filed them away.

Has anyone ever done anything like this or am I the only idiot out there haha

And today is my birthday so this is a nice present I got myself haha

Sort:  

hmm seems like a bit of bad luck. I dont have much experience with wallets myself yet but maybe an alternate solution would be to keep more than one copy of the file in different locations (checking that they work), including non local such as maybe your email. Just some ideas

Yeah it was just stupid on my part. Got to think that if things can go wrong they probably will especially dealing with computers. Just taking it as a learning experience. I have made multiple back ups of everything i have now and printed physical copy's as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68148.22
ETH 3249.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67