The recipe to earn a living mining cryptocurrency

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

IMG_0963.png

This is (one of) my rigs. there are none like it, and this one is mine! But you can buy this one, give me a shout @ [email protected] if you want to buy it off me. But I'll give you the recipe for free

What you see is a customized high end NZXT case housing six Nvidia GTX 1070 cards with a BTC ASrock motherboard and i5 CPU. It runs using windows 7 (my personal preference) and my own GUI which allows you to switch easily between coins.

A couple of practical points:

Nvidia works better than AMD for Equihash and Lyrarev2. If you're mining ethereum then you'll get a bit more bang for your buck with AMD, but personally I prefer Nvidia as the config is easier. so here we go, a hardware recipe.

Riser cards are important as obviously you cant plug 6 GPUS direct into a motherboard.

The EVGA power supply will give you all the cabling you need to get setup

Zotac GeForce GTX 1070 Mini - 6 of
Kolink PCI-E 1x to 16x Powered Riser Card Mining Rendering-Kit SATA - 6 of.
Intel Pentium G3260 LGA1150 CPU
ASRock H81 Pro BTC R2.0 Motherboard
NZXT H440 PC case
4GB DDR3 RAM - 2 of
EVGA gold 1000w power supply.

ANy HDD you like, I use a 2 terabyte samsung HDD as I'm conscious that I may want to utilize proof of capacity coins in the future.

As for how it all goes together.. thats a black art requiring some metal work and some patience. Give me a shout if you have a project and need some tips. I have software solutions and have pretty much seen every setup issue known to man!

Peace out!

.... incidentally this will produce 180mh/ s when optimized, which is a nice return

Sort:  

What are your returns on mining? Are you linked to renewable energy, or plug it into local company electrical grid?

Hey, well the returns took a bit of a kicking today, but the rig above comfortably makes $400-$600 a month mining Ethereum. Personally I dont have any access to renewable energy though that would be a good way to go. The rig draws a pretty consistent 700 watts

Do you store it in your garage? How load is it?

18 KG, its quiet enough to keep in the house. I have a cold back room which the rig helps to heat.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 61869.35
ETH 2414.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63