Winter mining has begun, already earned half a XZCsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency4 years ago (edited)

With the temperature dropping, I've turned my rigs back on and set them up to mine Zcoin. Using my GPUs and CPUs I'm getting close to 7 megahashes. After mining for a few days I'm on my way to my first mined Zcoin. Hoping to get a few before the frost is over in a few months.

Using two 1080s one 1060 and three CPUs I'm keeping the house quite warm during the days where its 20 to 30f outside.

I installed a high speed fan in my dual 1080 rig and it's made a big difference in keeping the GPU and CPU temps down. It cut them by about 10C though now I got a loud fan going when I'm mining.

In the morning when I start the rigs its about 65F in my office. But after an hour it's already past 70F which makes working in that room more habitable. 95F is the heat coming off my mining rig. I set up a sensor by the back of the exhaust fan.

Depending on how cold it is outside I run one to three computers using the MTP (Merkel tree protocol) algorithm to mine Zcoins. This is the first time I've mined them and it's been going smoothly.

Part of what makes Zcoin an ASIC resistant coin is how much memory is used when mining due to MTP. I need at least 6GB of VRAM to GPU mine and another 6GB of RAM to CPU mine. Seems to be working well for the network. Though my lower end graphics cards cannot join in on the mining as they have too little memory.

Right now I'm pool mining on mintpool. But I may solo mine if I can get enough hashing power together. Seems some are doing that on Zcoin.. maybe worth going Solo.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Hello,

Your post has been manually curated by a @stem.curate curator.

FA8866FD-F2C3-43B3-A5A5-E0324BA4BB47.jpeg
Supporting Steemians on STEMGeeks

We are dedicated to supporting great content, like yours on the STEMGeeks tribe.

Please join us on discord.

@stem.curate ah thanks alot for the curation

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @solominer!

You just got a 8.17% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 66000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 67000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

The Thunder Gods have deemed you a worthy recipient of this upvote.

You are a true supporter and it is the God’s honor to bestow you with our gift.

If you wish to receive greater gifts please consider the various delegation levels!

Tier 1 - 50 SP --- Tier 2 - 100 SP --- Tier 3 - 200 SP
Tier 4 - 300 SP --- Tier 5 - 400 SP --- Tier 6 - 500 SP
Tier 7 - 750 SP --- Tier 8 - 1000 SP --- Tier 9 - 1500 SP
Tier 10 - 2000 SP --- Tier 11 - 2500 SP --- Tier 12 - 5000 SP
We can't wait to support you!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

BOOOOOOOOOM!!!

The ground shakes as incredible power lights the sky.

The thunder tests the quality of your post and deems it worthy,
rewarding it with an upvote and comment from @thundercurator.

Get on-board early and grow with us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63162.76
ETH 3063.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85