You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: BIG Things! @ned at Consensus 2018 - The Legality of Content Takedowns (GDPR) & SMT Communities That Don't Use Stake Weighted Voting!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

America seems to be taking little notice of the GDPR in general, avoiding it where possible.

I am a co-founder and executive VP of Tech for an international SaaS product company. I can assure you America is taking it very very seriously, and watch your inbox for emails from every site you ever put an email in, flooding in, as they already are from every brand name ever, about their new GDPR policies or more sedately "Privacy Policy" updates...

It's no joke, and no one is laughing it away.

Sort:  

In my experience, the majority of software supply corporations I have spoken with recently in the USA region (not to be confused with the URA region ;) ) had not done much about GDPR until I prompted them (this was around 2 months ago when I was talking to several here). There are definitely groups who are ready and definitely groups who aren't - much the same as in Britain.

We have very different experiences then, but I deal in fortune 500s and federal contractors and name brand companies in my SaaS business... also, judging by my inbox, as I said, every company I ever gave an email to is hitting me with gdpr and privacy policy announcements, and I'm firmly in the USA here, 90 miles from washington dc. :)

Sure ok, I was dealing with less well known suppliers in this case.

Well I mean, yeah, I haven't gone back to my neglected websites from years ago, and updated wordpress with a delete plugin or anything lol but "real" companies? I'm not seeing them ignore this...

In this case I am referring to multi million dollar companies in the field of telemedicine.

Wouldn't they have already been prepared for this under HIPAA?

I am not an expert on the differences between the two standards, but my understanding is that they are not the same. I was advised by the British government that US companies who are not specifically GDRP certified need to use an agreement such as Privacy Shield to process data from the EU in the meantime.

HIPAA is not the same, and much much older, it's the Healthcare Privacy Act, which means your health care data must be protected - and thus removable...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66911.09
ETH 3516.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09