*SCAM ALERT* MAYBE? - MYETHERWALLET claims rebranding to MYCRYPTO

Ok so this is getting weird...

3 hours ago I had a post on my twitter feed from @mycrypto (which I am not a follower of as I never even heard of it before). 

Hey all, don’t freak out but we’re no longer @myetherwallet. MEW still exists, but we're now MyCrypto.

With a link to Taylors (one of the founders of MEW) statement on Medium.

I was terrified — am terrified — at the potential harm this change will have on myself, the team, and/or the Ethereum community but ultimately, the risks created by continuing down the road we were on are greater than the risks of splitting to a new brand, new company, new name, and new domain. While contemplating this decision, I began to see that my inaction would be the only thing that guaranteed my failure.

What This Means For You: You now have a choice between using MEW or mycrypto. The team I assembled will be building and making improvements to mycrypto and the infrastructure behind it.

I am (was) a twittter follower of MyEtherwallet but when today I read the announcement I thought it was maybe a scam so I checked the Myetherwallet twitter account and it only had 27 followers. Ok some sort of rebrand? as now the Mycrypto twitter account had all the followers that myetherwallet did.

Now Myetherwallet just posted this from their twitter account

@myetherwallet Twitter handle was changed without knowledge or permission of MEW's founder. We are investigating the matter, and will update everyone shortly. Stay tuned for further updates.

Now is this a hostile takeover or a legitimate founder split?

Personally I would definitely not visit Mycrypto website and hold off accessing Myetherwallet unless you absolutely have to.

However @Myetherwallet last update was the following.

MyEtherWallet is safe and functioning normally. You may continue to use MyEtherWallet as you normally would, your wallets have not been compromised. At present, we are dealing with what we believe to be an unlawful, social media account switch . We are addressing the ..

Please stay tuned for more information as it arrives, I will keep you posted and most off stay safe.

Sort:  

Very strange business. I've been using MyEtherWallet and I find it a great wallet. I will keep an eye out for updates on this news.

It has been an absolutely great platform and one I have used many times before.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Nex from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73