Sort:  

Hi @sift666,

I was originally quite impressed by Monero as well and almost wanted to include it in my Top 10. But in recent weeks, I had discovered some major red flags, especially regarding their wallets.

Before I get into these one thought: I had originally downloaded the desktop software to have a Monero wallet on my computer. Unfortunately, the software needs to download the whole kitten-kabudle as if we were a full node on the blockchain (many many gigs of data). My computer tried to do so, but I think it would have taken weeks to download all the data before finally being able to make it function normally. So I gave up on this and suspect a boat load of people have done the same.

The alternative was MyMonero.com web-based wallet. I have not tried it. And from what I can see from some who have, they have gotten all their funds stolen:

A new "official" XMR wallet recently came about - www.xmrwallet.com but major red flags there. First, look at their Privacy Policy which has two major red flags:

  1. It is packed with grammatical errors - very unprofessional. This doesn't inspire confidence, as if they are sloppy here, imagine with the coding and the wallet itself! I've written to them and they don't seem to take it very seriously (just a quick bogus reply from their team).

  2. Read the policy and see how and to whom they share wallet data with. Very scary! Although technically they could share data without these recipients knowing who holds them, just the fact that they share this much is extremely worrisome to say the least.

If you hold funds in Monero, I'd strongly recommend you not hold them in the two wallets above.

Another thing, is that not many articles are addressing these major concerns above. It's just not right.

So, that is why my friend...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 68163.93
ETH 2639.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70