Can the bitcoin PoW algorithm be changed? (PoS)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

I have been writing in a long time.
There have been many trials in the coin market in the long winter of heavy snowfall and cold weather.
I was particularly suspicious of the controversy about Tether, but I could not avoid it either.

Anyway, on February 24th a few days ago, there is a big controversy in tweets.
What is the change of bitcoin POW.
It is the tweet of cobra who is the manager of https://bitcoin.org and the tweet that I exchanged with jihan-wu.
1.png


And cobra tweet again.
2.png


This is not cobra's sole opinion, but cobra retweets tweet of Luke Dashjr, the core developer of bitcoin.
3.png


And I put a public vote on my tweets.
4.png


As claimed by cobra and bitcoin 's core claims, the hash of the Bitmain Associative Mining Pool is actually over 50%.
(btc.com / antpool / btc.top)

However, if you go over 50% in the past, you may turn off the miner yourself or turn the hash over to the other side (BCH etc) for trusting the network (if you lose trust, the value of bitcoin may drop and the digger may become obsolete).
Maybe jihan-wu might be the one who created the BCH knowing that the current bitcoin takes the position of gold.
5.png


Interestingly, bitcoin's mining difficulty has steadily climbed irrespective of recent price declines.
In other words, the miner was kept on sale and the mining pool increased.
6.png
In particular, we can see that the difficulty in mining has increased sharply in December ~ January when price decline was severe.

So the mining profits of the miners
7.png
Although it has been reduced a lot, it still seems to be a profit section, but it seems to be in fact close to the last line.
Because the price of s9 antminer has risen, and the next mining difficulty is also going to rise.

The market situation for bitcoin, miner will be a fun watching point again for how long they will take the Maginot Line while damaging it.

Can the bitcoin pow algorithm be changed?
Please leave your comments.

Sort:  

Bitcoin will never go to POS. Unless you like centralization and add the possibility​ of increasing inflation and dropping the price.

I do not want the bitcoin to go to pos. They too will. I'm sure.

I am certain that is something that won’t happen. The main components of POS would be incompatible.

Pos still has a lot of problems to overcome. nos (nothing of stake) or doulbe spend. I think the discussion itself is okay. But I think it is too early to apply.

HOW MUCH DO I NEED TO EXPRESS, THE FACT THAT I LOVE THE NAME COBRA 👍✨❗❗

Do you love Cobra?

I don't think Bitcoin will go to pos. Dispite the political struggles bitcoin will make it!

I think so too. It will be a process to produce better results.

my god at the price its at now never in a million years, would only benefit those at the top with us bottom feeders getting satoshi scraps however if btc was more equally distributed however.....its another story; perhaps in another dimension this happened and the worlds a much different place

I agree that redistribution of wealth has not been utopian. I think the bitcoin should bring a better world (true decentralization).

Exactly hit the nail on the head and it’s actually within sight the way adoption is going

We will always find a way, as always.

A BTC fork that would be accepted from majority of nodes is not conceivable right now. It could be imagined when all BTC will be mined.
It would be easier to see LTC changing its algorithm.

I think so too. It is more likely to change the algorithm of litecoin. It is strange that this story came out of the forum. It is unusual for core developers to agree, even though they have launched a mining machine at Halong Mining.

I think the best solution would be like Digibyte, where is possible to mine using 5 different algorithms and Digishield makes easier to small miners to make a profit, even using GPUs.

DGB seems to be getting a lot of mention here and there. It seems technically quite promising, and I think it has been proven that it has been released for a long time. I think it is undervalued.

I think it's the best technology out there, the fastest and most reliable way to make payments. But we will see, everything can happen. Nice post.

more than anything it boils down to concensus, I don't think it will ever go POS but I can see somewhere down the road a change to how the POW works

Since POS is still an unstable system, I think so too. It was amazing, however, that core developers were also thinking of pos. So do you?

Nice post master
Please help me
Please vote and flbck me

thank you , i will

Keep this up, Followed you for more :)

thank you , see you soon

Upvoted ☝ Have a great day!

thank u have a nice day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57344.91
ETH 3100.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42