Why I wish I had known about Cryptocurrency earlier

in #cryptocurrency8 years ago


I live in India and I grew up in the 1980s when the country's economy was closed to the outside world. When I was a child our exposure to the outside world was rather limited. After the Indian economy opened up in the 1990s, things changed rapidly. Suddenly we had cable television, which was really what changed my life. I could see how people all over the world lived. The second change in my life came in the late 1990s around 1998, when I discovered the Internet for the first time. Suddenly all the barriers that I had in my life were broken down. It was the Internet that freed me as a human being. I could finally understand I was not alone and there were other people like me. Now I could talk with anyone I wanted and share my joys, pains and tribulations. It was the Internet that introduced me to my wonderful partner with whom I have share the last 11 years of my life.

It was only in 2016 that I discovered cryptocurrency. I believe this is the third revolution in my life. The more I have interacted with the people in the cryptoworld, the more I have felt that we are finally discovering something that will breakdown all barriers. It is now possible to transfer units of value anywhere in the world with least resistance. As a freelance writer, I am used to working online and I work with people across countries each day. In the past I would need to wait endlessly for SWIFT bank transfers or have to go to the local Western Union to receive my payments. The other options were get hit by steep paypal fee. Indian regulations also meant that I could not really keep my money in the currency of my choice. This is no longer true. I have worked with these restrictive systems for nearly 13 years. Cryptocurrency has the potential to change the fate of developing countries such as India. Not only can we work with fewer or no restrictions, but it also has the potential to actually do good and help those that need help the most. 

I wish I had known about cryptocurrency when I was just a teenager. The possibilities for me would have been endless. However I am happy that this has happened during my lifetime. As I child I grew up in a world of telegrams, steam trains and radio and today I am writing my first steemit story. The world is a wonderful place. 



Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68101.41
ETH 3762.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69