How I lost money by trading crypto even if all looked such wonderful. #NoLambo

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

This is my very first post on Steemit. Please be kind to me and don´t throw stones on me if you not like the post or my bad english. I am very sensitive and shy.

After I lost crypto and money yesterday again I have to try out other things to get rich very fast and without any pain.

As all of you traders out there I dreamed already of my own #Lambo. I like the green one.
This is how it looked in my dreams a few weeks ago.

Reality looks more like this.

I also dreamed that I'm able to cancel my job while I show my naked ass to my boss.
After some time in Crypto, I have to conclude that I must postpone my plans to the future.

Sad but true. I am still not rich. And I'm still sitting at the same desk.

Do you get how I feel?

All this started a few weeks ago as I bought all my cryptos at the really most highest price they ever had.

After the nice experience immediately to see a huge decrease of the value of my crypto, I have done some trades.

Of course most time I sold on low prices and bought again at a much higher prices.
It´s amazing. I love wasting money.

With this first post of a (hopefully not too long) post-series of my crypto trading fails I try to give you a kind of "How not to trade crypto"-guide.

Because since yesterday I definitely know how not to do. I hope.

Okay, let´s start...

The story

Yesterday while Ethereum was dipping there was a not to little spread of about $9 from one to another market.

ETH-USDT: 1 ETH = $196,71

ETH-BTC: 1 ETH = $205,78

So I was thinking why not taking this chance.
What should go wrong, ya? Well, let´s see...

Because the timeframe of the spread was expected to be really short I was in a kind of rush.
Let´s face it: I had not do my math too good.

Who can expect to loose even if there is a potential gain of $9 for each ETH?
Even if there are high fees for each trade

I startet with ≈ 4,25 ETH.
My trade scheme in a timeframe of 4 minutes was:

Step 1: Sell ETH to BTC at $205,78

Step 2: Sell BTC to USDT at $2481,00

Step 3: Buy ETH for USDT at $196,71

So actually this should give me smooth profit.
Well, it does not.

The result

My ETH was shrinked to ≈ 4,22 after my trades.
I ended up with a loss of 0,03 ETH.

Not too bad but still depressing if you looking forward to a small profit.

The learnings

  1. Even if all looks such wonderful based on the simple prices. Do your math!
  2. Avoid to trade on exchanges with high fees
  3. Try your strategy with smaller amounts to proof the idea

Finally

Call me an idiot. I am still not really sure what exactly happened to me.

But what I am definitely sure about is that we have to get rid of this crazy expensive exchanges. Is this super decentralized crypto world not a cool thing?

Comments are welcome. :)

Ps.: Balances on screenshots are fake. I am poor. Of course.

Sort:  

Do your homework, learn the patterns, stay calm, have an investment plan. Eventually you will start earning.

Just Hodl and everything will be fine.

Maybe true. But it feels like missing chances. ;-)

Hi,

I'm in same situation, I was googling "lost my money in crypto" and got your post, I hope that you kept your ethureum and got your lambo, I don't know if prices will go higher for me

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68523.63
ETH 3260.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66