My latest toy: Rock 64 Single Board Computer

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

As its my birthday soon, the lady wife was very nice and shelled out for a new toy for me to tinker with:

20180530_182053.jpg

Its a nice little board, and quite powerful too with a quad core ARM CPU, 4GB RAM, gigabit ethernet and a USB3 port. I added an external USB WiFi dongle there too, and underneath is my own spare OCZ Vertex 2 50GB SSD connected on the USB3 port.

So what am I using it for? Its main task is to hodl all my cryptocurrency daemons, I have been running coins on an assortment of Raspberry Pis for a while now, but this allows me to condense everything into one package. The blockchain files are all hosted on the USB3 attached SSD to save wearing out the microSD card.

Stuff is still syncing right now but here are the daemons ticking away:

Capture.JPG

Of course once all the syncing is done this little guy will be kept at max temperature running BOINC tasks as well, like all my kit does, we have a heatsink there and I will add a small fan for active cooling once my case arrives.

What will happen to my collection of Pis, you ask? Well they are going to keep chugging away on BOINC, and I will leave them to operate as listening fullnodes to help the coin networks, just without my real wallet.dat files on them for better private key security... after all

there is always room for more toys!

Sort:  

Impressive man! Nice device.

Nice! I approve of all four of those coins :D

Yup, I'm a proper bleeding heart luvvie :)

neat-o. good looking little machine.

Yeah especially with its clothes off ha ha

cool stuff.

This is awesome! 4GB of RAM!!!

Not too expensive either

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94