You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Bitcoin Adoption Going To Explode in Korea? Watch my latest show weekly Update from Seoul!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Well LN is working just as I thought when I came to love the LN. It does not work as intended in the fact that low liquidity? Well the should go away with the introduction of LN phones and better tech added to it. LN always being on? Well watchtower with eltoo should fix that. Eltoo loosen middlemen power by 50% and more I hope with new tech. Hence I don't consider LN as vapor. I consider that LN is also working on scaling and ease of use too.
Schoor could be added in to BCH but it needs a segwit like thing. I think the first ever alt to segwit was Flextrans but that way way to buggy and new and unsure if it could of added in a soft fork. Well BCH is not afraid of HF so that not a problem.

Sort:  

No, what I mean is that it does not work as "intended" in that the routing algo has yet to be completed. Overall low liquidity on the network combined is a different issue altogether.

It does work as projected by critics, in that it is not a flatly distributed network aka "decentralized" in this sense, even though it clearly acts as a decentralized network in other ways. This makes liquidity in particular channels and with particular nodes an issue. Increasing overall liquidity will not solve this, but probably greatly mitigate any issues that may arise from it on a day by day basis.

Don't get me wrong though, LN has interested me for years and even when I'm critical of how it has been pushed as the ultimate scaling solution (well first it was SegWit, before that incremental blocksize increases, then a single increase that got smaller and smaller etc) I'm still not saying that it's useless. It's just not what is needed to scale.

BCH will (hopefully) never add SegWit, but it can add other maliability fixes and what not. SegWit isn't the only way if you really want to implement more advanced features. But first priority will be scaling per the original Bitcoin design.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63235.53
ETH 2558.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63