You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Difficulty of Mining

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

FYI miners can also merged mine coins aka mine altcoins/sidechains the same time as bitcoin making them more $. Namecoin and Rsk are the biggest examples.

Sort:  

Also true, thanks for pointing that out. It has it's downsides though in terms of power/heat/longevity tradeoff - at least that's what I've found when mining manually.

No merged mining is basically in smaller words free mining for bitcoin miners. Miners use the same hash as bitcoin with the altcoins/sidechains at little cost to miners.

Many thanks for the inputs. I must read a little more into merged mining. I'd be lying if I said that I know the specifics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57111.61
ETH 2875.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69