Unfortunately yes, Minergate does seem to “steal” hashes.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

minergate_logo_3.pngLots of rumors about Minergate stealing hashes have been going around ever since Minergates inception. Now when I first heard about them I disregarded them considering most word I heard about it didn’t provide any evidence.

However just a day ago I tried using CCminer and CPUminer to test out a new Bytecoin mining pool (bytecoin.uk is the pool if you want to mine there as well) and well… I was quite surprised.

Now I’m not sure if using the term “stealing” is the best term to use. I don’t know what is going on under the hood as Minergate is closed source. Perhaps they lower your hashes based on Minergate fees so it more accurate in the calculator or something. It would be nice if they told us so.

But on CCminer and CPUminer combined I was getting around 450 h/s, while on Minergate the most I got was around 300 h/s. This is a very substantial increase in hashes.

So if your just mining for fun, or just to learn how the whole thing works. I would suggest to stay with Minergate for now, but sooner or later move to another mining program. If you’re running a dedicated mining rig on Minergate, move to something else because Minergate does in fact “steal” hashes.

And before bots come around saying that I stole this article, I wrote this on www.bytecoinbcn.wordpress.com originally and I am republishing it here.

Sort:  

Before bots come around saying that I stole this article, I wrote this on www.bytecoinbcn.wordpress.com originally and I am republishing it here.

I like your post. @saladman I have followed you

Congratulations @saladman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65641.09
ETH 3479.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50