Why I don't own any crypto - yet

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Just this month was the 9th anniversary of Satoshi mining the genesis block and kickstarting this entire experiment in cryptocurrency. I am as excited about the separation of money and state as much as anybody in this space, so a lot of people would be surprised to hear that I don't own any cryptocurrency myself (apart from what I technically have on here.) But this isn't because I don't believe in a lot of these projects or want them to succeed. 

This summer I saw BTC becoming mainstream and considered buying some when it was at about $2500. Considering the incredible leap, I might have been able to make a little cash on the price increase, but is that what we're really after? Are we becoming the opportunistic charlatans like the central bankers and Wall Street frat boys we've been trying to get away from? The point of cryptocurrency has nothing to do with becoming wealthy. This is about the future of money. It's about releasing ourselves from the stranglehold that the current financial cartel has on every person that wants to control their own money. 

Currently, no cryptocurrency has made it abundantly clear that their products are going to provide enough value to warrant me using it. I want more than anything for a cryptocurrency to be universally adopted and to be able to use it all the time for anything I want, but that's just not the case right now. People will tell me that I'll miss out on making money if I don't buy in, but what would I really be making? If I'm obtaining a cryptocurrency, it's so that I can use it as a currency. The reason I have US dollars is because I have to in order to control resources in real life. I don't have a choice. The people that point out the arbitrage opportunity are trying to make money in terms of fiat currency. They just want to sell it at a higher price point in order to make some federal reserve notes. That is not what this is about. That's why for now, I don't own any cryptocurrency, but am looking forward to the day when I have to.

Sort:  

I am also looking for that day, but I guess it will be not BTC or ETH or some of top 50 altcoins. It will be something other, but the day will come.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59961.00
ETH 3199.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46