My Trezor Arrived Today - It's Awesome

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

20170721_155937.jpg

My Trezor arrived today, very pleased with it. I'm far from being too bright when it comes to tech devices, I could never figure out how to use an iPod I got for a gift years ago and wound up getting rid of it. The Trezor however was a piece of cake.

No actual instructions come with it so was a bit confused where to start but logged onto the website and there was a button at the bottom that said new Trezor owner, so I clicked it and it took me to the setup and pretty much walked me through everything.

trezor.png

From there I setup my pin which was pretty straight forward, it's sort of an encoding type thing in that you can't see numbers on your computer scree, you can see numbers on the Trezor so you use the Trezor as the key.

After that I setup my seed.

There is an option to setup a passphrase, however after reading some forums online from people who have forgotten their passphrase it seems like it may be oversecurity. If the whole point of the seed is to recover your wallet, why add another layer that if forgotten makes the seed irrelevant as you can no longer use the seed to recover your wallet.

I've since made two transfers from Coinbase and Electrum wallets I have and they showed up very quickly. I'm going to keep things simple at first and not open up multiple accounts, I've heard of some people who create multiple accounts and then are not able to recover all of them at a later date trying to use Electrum or Multibit saying it only recognizes account 3 or account 9 but not all the accounts or not the one with their coin so going to keep it simple for now.

If anyone is on the fence about getting one of these but think your too stupid to set it up, if I can set it up you can set it up.

I should add it arrived really quickly as well, I had it within 3 days after ordering via DHL.

I'll do a more in depth post later but I'm kinda stoned, got a headache and gotta run to take a buddy out for Thai for his birthday so I'll do it another time. Later peeps.

20170721_163145.jpg

Sort:  

When I was first researching about which hardware coldstorage wallet to purchase I was stuck between the Ledger Nano S and the Trezor. I decided to go with the Nano S because of the design and price. Curious to know what your experiance is with the trezor. Awesome post, I made a post today as well about unboxing my Ledger nano s. Also do merch by amazon posts. Love your channel keep up the awesome videos. Peace. @rulesforrebels

Dope, what's the map on the screen for?

Actually glad you brought that up. You can choose the screensaver or image on the front of your Trezor. I chose Einstien, I agree its not that clear. I've since changed it to say "Try To Take It" and it shows a piggy bank. THere's probably a dozen or two images they have on the site you can choose from or you can create your own. I havn't personally tried to create one but I'll try to get into that tomorrow.

Aha that's pretty cool still. Since I am here, what are the benefits of a physical wallet beyond the obvious? What would make having something like this worthwhile to someone fairly new to cryptocurrency? I'm kinda new, kinda not. Cheers

Please do a review and comment on the build quality. None of my local store have it so there is no way to check before buying. Like other electronics with a USB connector a poor design / fragile connector can really ruin the owner's day.

hey @oldman28 so just went back and took a closer look at it. Initial impressions, it's smaller than I expected it to be, not that that's really important but just something I noticed. Feel of the plastic in terms of build quality, it is light, not saying cheap but also doesn't strike me as heavy duty either. It will be sitting in my safe though not something I'm going to carry around so not concerned about that. Mini USB or android connection plug or whatever you call that seems to be decent, not something I'm going to be plugging in and out like a mouse or a data usb so not really concerned about wear and tear but seems like it should hold up well.

I initially was leaning towards the Ledger however the Trezor seemed from watching videos a bit more intuitive and user friendly and also it was available now as opposed to September or October on the ledger. You can get a ledger on eBay or Amazon but I think close to $300.

Thanks I am still on the fence but will order one to check out. I think I can easily sell locally if I don't like it since there is no local store carrying them.

Hey @Oldman28 I'm sure you'll have no problem reselling a sealed one however unfortunately I don't think it's something you can open, test out, use and then resell. I think there is a way to reset the pin and seed so I guess technically speaking someone may buy a used one cheap and reset it but honestly personally I'd be hesitant to buy a new one so if you did order one I wouldn't plan on being able to try it and resell it as I dont know if you'll have a buyer that way.

that said I dont think you can go wrong with either. I'd suggest watching some Youtube videos and seeing which seems more user friendly to you and go with that one.

what if the trezor broken or cant use, are we lose all the crypto?

that's what the recovery seed if for. you can buy a new trezor and use your seed or there are some wallets that are compatible with your seed so if you choose not to you don't have to buy a new trezor. I think Electrum and Multibit are both compatible with Trezor seeds

nice i will probaly buy one soon

Congratulations @rulesforrebels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I have been looking at hard wallets as well, but still have not made a decision yet on which one to go with. Heard lots of good things about the Ledger nano too.

Yes, seems to be a great product. I was trying to buy it but amazon is still sold out. From where did you get it?
Rather all other hardware wallets. Though after researching on Trezor, Keepkey and Ledger Nano, the clear winner for me is Trezo considering durability and portability.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69557.92
ETH 3792.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52