Sort:  

Great post!
I have similar thoughts, specially on not buying ETH when it was way cheaper :D

well, we may have missed the first opportunity there, though plenty others on the way... one in particular that might be significantly undervalued right now at 3 cents, none other than Bitshares... ;-)

You're right, I got everything into my trading account and it's only BTCs, need some brand new crypto to invest in, for sure!
Thank you for your reply, Steemon ;)

check out Bitshares... not new, but the foundation that's been built over the years is pretty strong compared to some of the newer coins taking off, and there may be some developments in the works that could make this one helluva deal at 3 cents right now..

I advise caution, though. We're at the top (so far, at least) of a truly massive bull run across the board right now. My gut says now is a time for selling or holding on, not buying. Just my 2¢ :)

Also keep an eye on #eos. @dantheman and I are working on that one behind the scenes right now, and before too long it'll be open for buying in. To give you some context, the framework underlying Bitshares 2.0 and Steem, namely Graphene, is the last project Dan and I developed together. I'm honestly excited about the prospects for this next one.

Of course, do your due diligence and don't buy based on my recommendation alone, but it's a project worth keeping an eye on. And you still have an opportunity to get in on the ground floor with this one. :-)

Tagging @andrew0

Hey @modprobe is EOS gonna kickstart with an ICO? Drop some hints.. lol need to scrape some coins off the corners of my couch :)

Hahaha, well I'm not entirely certain what exactly does vs. doesn't qualify as an ICO, but there will be an open opportunity to get in before the new chain launches. The big announcement will be at Consensus in a few weeks, so definitely watch for more information then. :-) Until then, scrape away!

Yes, Ether was a screaming buy under $10 in Dec. Good trading opportunity now. Probably another 100% gain before it corrects. POS FOMO is strong on this one. Damn Steem is skyrocketing! Glad I held through the bottom.

Very nice posts. I like that you see the bigger aim for the cryptocurrencies. When I first heard about cryptocurrencies a view years ago I was super excited, yet I never had a good pc in my youth and felt uncomfortable with anything except using word or playing pinball. So I missed the chance to buy bitcoin. Another reason was that I thought that this revolutionary idea would be currupted by the investors. Somehow I was smoking to much dope at that time so I did not find out that I could have been super rich if I had invested. When a friend told me about steemit I was in the same day, because I remembered the exitement of that time and because I could be part of it without investing money but my artwork and my creativity. And since I started I feel like my motivation is rising and rising. I liked your article a lot because I see that you also care for the bigger issues than just earning money (which is a good thing of course - but it is a temporary goal within this system). Anyways cheers and followed :)

420 blaze it!! Btw do you believe in spreading love across the steemit community?

Yep, now that you say it ;) I think I'll roll one ;-) Today I get asked a lot about my believes in steemit comments. Interesting ^^ Well, I wish to everyone who reads my posts Lots of Light and Love but I guess it always depends on the reader if (s)he wants to share the love. I like to get to know people through their steemit blogs, for I feel they are much more honest than other social networks and it is nice to be able to support great works with an upvote. I feel a strong connection to some steemers, eventhough we never met because we create things together. Actually today I was shooting a movie scene I wrote and one of the actors I got to know though steemit @matrjoschka.

Wait if you believe in spreading love check out my post about free upvotes it's a system called upvote for upvote that truly does help everyone

plenty more opportunities ahead in this space - it's only relatively beginning... ;-)

Its just early years. There will be one wave after another. Once we peak out this time expect a correction though. Maybe this time we get to 80 billion total crypto cap before it corrects. Bitcoin is no where near overbought yet and neither is Steem since higher prices means more users and then even higher prices.

Wow, you have focused through this article a lot of opportunities on blockchain technology. Even today most believe that crypto is just to pour some funds, wait for prices to surge and enjoy the spoils after that. But a very few people like you see the actual picture, the actual power of technology. I too believe it is just a start and it has wider application than anybody could think of. Steemit is just the start, next would be banks to revolutionise on blockchain technology. And about you confusion, whether to enter fully on thìs crypto world, I would suggest no matter how much Cryptos one is holding, As this tech is in its infancy, anything could go wrong. So I would not keep all my eggs in crypto basket and keep atleast one other source of income to pay the bills. Rest your article throws a deep insoght on future crypto and blockchain technology. Great work.

yes, there are many just looking at the short term profit potential with pump and dumps - and its kinda sad, as damages the integrity of the whole space as scamsters hop on to take advantage. I suppose that is one downside of a lack of regulation. nonetheless, people must accept responsibility for their own choices, do their own homework, and conduct their business like big boys & girls. it's inevitable some won't have all honorable intentions - yet, there is a whole other segment who are approaching the same space very professionally...

the banks are already implementing blockchain, realizing if they don't, they're done. will be interesting to watch the race - whether they can keep up, or new decentralized platforms really do away with the need for banks altogether over time. granted, that'd take a fair amount of time given so much of society's infrastructure is intertwined with the banking system as it exists. though, the new systems could accelerate quite fast.

alot going on in this space, alot to keep up with. though again, I recommend reading Blockchain Revolution, as it's probably the single best condensed source of a holistic vision for the direction this is all going... :-)

Well I would consider your suggestion of reading Blockchain revolution. You write good stuff, followed you.

I'm curious, @looftee, what benefits you believe banks can bring to crypto?

I was saying Block chain not crypto. And if even a single bank adopts a single crypto. Suppose how much price will surge of that crypto on that day.

Banks have no real value to add, though. They can inflate prices by printing money, which is what banks do, but that's fraud, and those numbers aren't backed up by real assets. Eventually the scam collapses, there's no way to avoid this. I do not want banks' fake money. It is a poison sweet to the tongue, but sour to the stomach.

well, frankly I don't have that much knowledge, so you may be true.

Be wary of banks. They do not have your interests in heart. Many people hate banks, and while I do not advocate blind hatred, those people hate banks because banks very cleverly do incredibly harmful things, but it's hard to see how until you understand the economics of the currency system. It's easy to learn, though. Look up how central banks and fiat currencies work, and you'll see how banks are hurting people, especially the poor. We create cryptocurrencies in large part to give people, especially the poor who are most severely hurt by the fraud of banks, an alternative which is designed to help them, not hurt them.

By clever accounting, banks steal from the poor to feed the rich; all without the poor, who have the least time and energy to dedicate to understanding the currency system, seeing how they are being exploited. Inflation is a nearly invisible tax on the poor.

well, I got your point. It is very nice thinking of you that way.

This is a great post and you introduce many of the wonders that are heading our way. That you warned people that there might be a bubble is prudent because those of us who have been in cryptocurrency for five years have seen a few disasters that were just horrible to endure. My personal opinion is that it will rocket up for some time due to the financial losses suffered by government, business, and individuals due to hacking, cyber theft, and fraud. Keep up the good work. Thanks for your post my friend @rok-sivante

I can feel Rok is back and please keep in mind that I need those kind of articles I can learn from.

<3

Meaning..... We are not only here to earn rewards. So many left when rewards nothing.
We have a message and your words are missed very much when you don't write to share your wisdom. ☺️🌼 Please stay! You are born writer!

My friend great work! :)

thank you for sharing

hmmm... I don't understand enough about the technical aspects to grasp much too much detail from the white paper, though slightly curious. did find this which seems to break it down in simpler layman terms.

have you come across any other info on this project that might be more easily digestable...?

There is this: https://github.com/the-laughing-monkey/cicada-platform/blob/master/Cicada-One-Pager-2016-10-13.GA.1.pdf

I actually came across this cicada stuff whilst solving the #Cicada3301 puzzles.

@rok-sivante Here is some general theory on the whole idea.
http://www.fermat.org/

Check out one of my posts about free upvotes it works by you up voting my post then I upvote back then every one that upvotes my post you upvote them then they upvote you back it's a easy simple way to get money flowing through this trend so ev,everyone who uses #upvoteforupvote gets free upvotes it's simple so share the love and money

@rok-sivante, awesome article! I'm also a relative newcomer to cryptos... at least to alt coins... and excited about the prospects.

The thing that really caught my eye was the idea of Universal Basic Income, of which I am a strong proponent... and what a wonder it would be if it turns out that UBI can come about as a result of people initiatives like these blockchain technologies, rather than as a result of government handouts and efforts... which are doomed to have some kind of screw-up attached. Wow!

I put together a (small) Twitter list of leaders in the UBI space - feel free to follow:

https://twitter.com/RokSivante/lists/basic-income

Wonderful post! Have to rEsteem!
Thank you for putting it together.
Imgur

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60607.86
ETH 2620.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52