You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steemians: WARNING: Do NOT use Poloniex at this time for your STEEM and SBD transfers, and maybe other things - Here is why:

They are having issues that they really need to address to the community. Considering they HAVEN'T addressed the community, this is (ironically) a good sign. I say this because I understand the operations of crypto companies intimately. Not alerting your audience is like saying, "everything's fine, we have more customers than we can handle, and we don't mind if you leave."

Also, since their wallets had problems for a while, I moved my STEEM to Bittrex by using the directions below. This way if I want to move them, I won't have to worry about something happening with Poloniex's STEEM wallets.... and here's how I moved my STEEM out of Poloniex:

  1. Log into Poloniex
  2. Trade your STEEM for Bitcoin
  3. Withdraw the Bitcoin to a Bitcoin Deposit address on your Bittrex account.
  4. Once the Bitcoin transaction is confirmed on Bittrex, trade the Bitcoin back for Steem!

Hope this helps! :)

Sort:  

That's a very important news and I really thank you for sharing this very important news. And, specially for the new comers like me, this is so much very important. For example, me, I was going to do this transaction and that too for the first. I'd I had not read this post, I would have got myself in trouble. Thanks a lot again.
I really don't want anyone to suffer. So, I just resteemed this post. :)

I'm never trusting a business to hold my money ever again. The thing is that this is not unique to cryptos, banks do this kind of bullshit all the time, that's why if you read their fine print they are not legally obliged to give your money back to you, because it's somehow, by some legal voodoo, specially made for banks, theirs when you give it to them. I'm betting it's similar for these exchanges too.

that's ok for small amounts and probably the way to go , but for large amounts it is far too expensive.

I did an amount of the largest I could withdraw in 1 day. ($25,000 USD) ... and I paid about $200 in fees. This is COMPLETELY worth it if your alternative is finding out that they're going to "socialize" your losses! If you don't think this can happen, BitFinex did it.

Stopping by your reply again, to say good job RG. Nicely done again helping people --

If you like please resteem / spread word of the every-weekend #SteemitCampfire on my page starting Friday nights / EST time!!! The Friday Reminder post for the event is up on my page now.

(:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63764.77
ETH 3430.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53