Wax token - what are people saying?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Full disclosure, Wax is a token I made a small investment in, just to get some skin in the game...
(...pause for groans and sympathy chuckles, if you don't get the pun, read on...)
The presales are over and I'm not pushing it, I'm just putting my opinion out there.
I am in this for the token investment but also might use this blockchain OPskins system to sell a couple rare skins I've been hanging onto as it is a more attractive system to use than the current one, which has a lot of users and I have used myself.
There are competing companies but I know first hand that most of the gamers that use these skins dont know what cryptocurrency is, and they won't recognize these names like they recognize and have come to trust OPskins and trust me, trading skins and crypto currency are VERY VERY similar, the whole way it is structured will be understandable and interesting to these gamers and I really think this token will be a gateway into cryptos for a lot of them and they will do WELL at it!
I almost let the ico go by and try to wait to see what the tokens go for on ether delta after they are released, there will be over a year's wait to see the WAX platform in action so there may be an oppertunity to get in on this cheap in which case I will strengthen my position because I am going to wait this one out.
I haven't been able to find much info on WAX that does not look sponsored by someone or another or WAX directly That being said , here are two videos , the second one I added just to be impartial, it's the only person I can find really saying anything bad.

Sometimes you have to just suspend your disbelief and drink the koolaid.

Please share your thoughts on wax, upvote and follow - Stay Up!
-Raddog



Edit:sorry, playback disabled by user but you can see the title if you want to check it on YT

Sort:  

I'm not sure that I'd put too big of a position into this crypto because it definitely looks like a gamble based on the fact that it's several months away from having an actual product (like so many other coins out there), so it could moon a year from now or it could go to zero, if the project is abandoned.

I really like the balanced approach you used with Mike talking to the pundits that barely know what BitCoin is ..... With a guy that's extremely negative on it! lol.

I think that this is a very risky investment, but it has the potential to pay off BIG TIME if it works... like all of the other small caps. I think that there are some big names behind this one, and a lot of people that should know better are investing anyway. It could go to zero, but if it doesn't, it could be very much higher than it is now! Right now it's on a deep discount from even the ICO prices, so if you're going to buy between now and the next couple of weeks may be the time to buy. I'm medium to long term positive on it, but I would just say not to put too much in there. DISCLAIMER: I'm not offering financial advice. All investments have risk. These are my opinions. DISCLOSURE: I also have a small stake invested in WAX tokens.

I may be misinterpreting, (correct me if I'm wrong please) but I think the second video is upset that the development team is holding on to so many of the tokens.... If WAX does well, then it would make them millions!

Of course, there was another crypto with this behavior that no one liked and the creators are still holding on to the majority of tokens.... XRP. No one likes it (except bankers), and now investors like it because it briefly became the #2 cryptocurrency at the top of the most recent altcoin peak and made their money tentuple or more in some cases.... The ones holding the ripple made BILLIONS (on paper). Of course, there's a danger of inflation with Ripple because they can start releasing ripple whenever and however they want to the ecosystem, causing intentional or unintentional inflation..... So.... I'm still a fan of less centralized currencies.

Long story short.... I really hope that WAX or something like it succeeds. It really seems like there are a lot of mini-economies and mini markets with all things game related, especially ANYTHING that can be customized, skinned, etc. It also seems like the only beneficiaries of this are either the game developers by providing a platform, or the gaming meta platforms like Steam and others..... They are providing a service too, however, it seems more and more like they're deriving most of their revenue from being middle men.

Modern games are really awesome and all, but something about the huge multi billion dollar conglomerate monopoly companies makes me yearn for the mid 80's to mid 90's when games were made by companies, but it seemed like "anyone" could be a game developer and succeed ---- not because they had millions to spend on development and armies of graphic artists and 3D artists..... But because they had an idea.... An idea that was fun and engaging to play but didn't look the best.....

Oh, yeah.... Forgot to mention that I think you're VERY CORRECT about gamers into skins who may be a natural fit for crypto and not even know it yet! Because cut throat Global Online Marketplaces ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63702.19
ETH 2490.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67