What do you think about Stellar Lumens (XLM)?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

I'm trying not to make speculative posts on here because Steemit is filled with TA shitposts, but. . .

But taking a look at this chart over the last thirty days and XLM has done a wonderful job of moving sideways - I've been watching Stellar's performance for the last few months, closely, and I was really excited when it pumped to it's most recent resistance and it seems to have found it's floor for the time being. I think with the coming ICOs being developed on the Stellar blockchain, I can't really see any reason for it not to grow exponentially.

Here are a few reasons why I'm watching this coin:

  • Cheap to use.

The base fee is currently set to .00001 XLM—a fraction of a fraction of a penny. The sender of the transaction incurs the fee. No one profits from the base fee. The ledger collects the fees and redistributes them in the process of inflation.

  • Almost instantaneous TX

Stellar is based on a consensus algorithm rather than mining. This means transactions confirm in a few seconds

  • There is a lot of room for Stellar to grow because it's still so inexpensive.

How does the Stellar network compare to Bitcoin?


The main differences between the Stellar network and Bitcoin are the following:
Stellar is based on a consensus algorithm rather than mining. This means transactions confirm in a few seconds.
The supply of lumen increases at a fixed rate of 1% a year.
Stellar aims to let you transact in your currency of choice (fiat or digital).
The hope is that the currency itself will be mostly a behind-the-scenes currency and that the Stellar network will help provide more liquidity between currencies.

What do you think? Are any of you out there holding any Lumens?

Sort:  

I cannot believe I unloaded them, way back when I quit using Poloniex.

I know, right? Wish I was holding my original purchases from back then... Probably going to flip my remaining ripple into xlm once it hits like, $2. Got my alerts set on blockfolio and ready to go.

I am soon to come into a giant pile of cashish. Might just smoke it.....

What is the relationship between STR and XLM? Why are they both called "Lumens"?

That's a good question, this is how I think about it; Lumens are to Stellar as Ether is to Ethereum. I'm pretty sure that's accurate.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60865.75
ETH 2381.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57