My Failures in Crypto Investing And My Plan Going Forward

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

lambo_moon.jpg

I've learned a lot over the past couple weeks about crypto investing I wish I'd learned sooner. I'm still happy enough with my portfolio that I'm trying not to worry too much about this altcoin slaughter. But I've learned some tidbits I wish I'd been more mindful of from day one so it was retaining more value than it is right now with the bleed. I'm going to try to list some of them and how I'll be applying them going forward.

Some Simple Lessons

BTC Reigns Supreme

When I first starting buying cryptocurrency, I made the mistake of thinking the best bet was to build up a portfolio of solid long term bets, which was where I burned a lot of the BTC I had access to. Now that BTC is on a bullrun and the altcoin markets are drying up, I see the error in how I managed my portfolio. Any profitable portfolio needs to be squatting on BTC, or its going to hurt when that next BTC spike happens.

Opportunity Cost is Expensive

While in the long term I still like the odds of my portfolio giving me solid returns, each of those investments made come with an opportunity cost that blocks you from investing elsewhere until you get your returns. Treating my portfolio like a mutual fund may be good in the long term, but in the short term I could use some quicker wins.

Being 100% Aware of Major Updates Is Critical

I knew of the upcoming forks, but I ignored what I knew and focused away from BTC. This was a big mistake. Keeping key dates in mind when making investment decisions is critical to prevent bleeding, and capitalize on any opportunities that might come your way.

Its OK to HODL

I've still not sold anything for a loss, because I'm long on anything I've bled on. Many crypto traders focus 100% on short term flips and getting 2x-3x returns on every trade. I haven't played the game this way enough yet, but after watching the life cycles of some coins and the reactions to them online, it seems clear the panic sellers are the ones losing the most in crypto while they sell for a loss to chase the latest FOMO. If you're invested in something, it should be because you believe it can become worth a lot more than its currently worth. And so long as that's true, you should never panic sell for a loss.

My New Strategy

Putting the pieces together, going forward once I can flip some coins to get back to a baseline, my plan is:

  • keep half of my stack in BTC
  • keep that BTC split between 8 wallets, each dogeared for specific financial life goals to be cashed in whenever they reach the goal
  • 1/4 of my stack will be kept in ETH and long term holds
  • 1/4 of my stack will be used for short term flips
  • all profits from flips get converted to BTC

Any Advice?

These are just a few of the things I've learned. Does anyone have any advice for me? The one thing I've learned the most, is that I've still got a lot to learn :P

Sort:  

if you need an advice
just Tnex it s best investing on short time

Thanks for the reply :). It'll be a bit before I start looking for short term flips since for now I'm trapped waiting for altcoins to come back to life. Once I've managed to get 1/2 my stack converted back to BTC I'm going to be keeping my eyes peeled though lol

Thank you @shawki. Likewise :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 59325.16
ETH 2609.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41