Siacoin's Shitty Week: When is it time to cut the optimism and call it an L?

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

sc1.PNG

I'm writing this partly to ask but partly to share a couple opinions of my own.

I've noticed what I almost see to be an unwarranted optimism within the cryptocurrency trading community whenever a coin like Siacoin falls abruptly after a big wave of initial hype. I really do understand the idea of long term holding of coins like these, the idea being that no matter how bumpy the ride, the coin will be worth something big someday as these types of currencies get more and more recognition and use.

Down 40-50% since the week before the Obelisk announcement, when is it time to mark Siacoin a mistake and put it into the lessons learned category? I don't mean sell, I just mean count it as a waste of loose funds and time as I hold and slowly wait for it to creep back up around somewhere where I can get out with minimal profits or damage - all the while thinking I could've bought it when it was down that 40-50% (now) and maybe actually have made some money worth the time and risk.

I know, I know - quick money almost never happens , it's the risk you take, investing 101... blah blah. I just sometimes we need to call things what they are.

So, early/mid June SC investors - guess what? We made a bad move. We were wrong. Maybe in 6 months we'll have been kinda right, but mostly, and for now, we were wrong.

Thoughts?

p.s. This is just a take - I don't mean to pick fights with crypto-opinion leaders or big investors with this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57369.97
ETH 2943.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63