Cryptocurrency Noob looking for advice!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

So I finally made some exchange accounts and wallets and almost ready to take the leap! I even made a few trades from steem to BTC and moved them around a bit to get comfortable.

I also rolled all the change I could find in my house and sold some junk sitting around so I have my first little bit of money to invest with. I plan to take it slow and only invest what I can afford to lose.


Source

What I really want to know is what mobile app is the best to watch prices. Something I can favorite a few alt coins on to the watch closely and get a better feel. So one that has lots of coins options.


Source

The other big question is what's the best news or market analysis website to read or keep up to date on. I hope to learn more about the overall market and what makes a coin more desirable and more likely to gain value. I prefer to read text and not one for watching any videos or YouTube channels.

Of course if anyone has any super awesome coin tips that are going to make me rich let me know too.... lol.


Source

I'm more interested in holding a few new and undervalue coins long term that will take off eventually then buying and trading dips on any of the big coins.

Oh yeah last question which may be super dumb but I hope to buy a hardware wallet. Will it hold any type of coin or token or do they generally just hold the main ones?

Thanks for any advice I know there's lots of experts hanging around here


Footer by @bearone

Sort:  

Welcome to the club!. Blockfolio is the app. Coindesk and twitter will give all the info you need. and i'd use a ledger nano s wallet, affordable and secure. with this wallet you can hold almost all the more established coins.

Lastly there are many factors that can make a coin valuable, but it all comes down to adoption. if you find a coin that you are sure will be used widely it generally will appreciate in value. Besides this transparency, immutability, and decentralization are the main pillars of any good coin investment. if a coin can demonstrate all these values and is due for some adoption..it may well be a good investment.

Thanks for the great overview and that's the second recommendation for that wallet, I'll definitely add it to my list. Thanks.

I use the blockfolio app. You can sync up up with your accounts are add your coins manually, thats what i did. In a nutshell, it tracks all your buying and selling profits live and as far as i know is the best app on the market for this.

Oh wow, that's really cool, I'll definitely, have to check that one out.

https://coinmarketcap.com - I find its the best place to research and analyse coins - also get a Binance account with some Binance coins , they have some decent altcoins - and it works out really cheap to exchange -The Nano Ledger S can hold quite a few different coins - it does say on the there site -

I have really liked that website. I like how it has the link to the coins website, social media and recent news.

i would suggest looking at the alt coin and what use it has, like Salt Lending, its sounds really good where people can lend actual cash while the company holds their bitcoin until they pay it up, cause not many people want to use their crypto, but they need the cash... so have a look at salt Lending and OmiseGO, i always research about the crypto before i invest in it and what their goals are

That's an interesting concept too. I'll have to take a better look around for sure. Thx

The best of luck to you, bud, in your new endeavor! Really the best advice I can give you is: Once you have determined which coins you are interested in through your due diligence, wait to enter after at least a 60% correction of the ATH. Resist not to this with your entire being, lol. If it leaves you, there will always be others. Don't learn this the hard way like myself and thousands of others.

To answer at least one of your questions, I believe coinmarketcap has a pretty good mible app.

That's a great tid bit too, and sounds like great advice especially with all the volatility in the markets.

You have to follow @haejin for crypto analysis. He is very accurate.👌

Awesome, I'll start following him, thx!

I posted some articles up man. Really look at RIPPLE XRP - research it as well. I have two very trusted friends who did a lot of research on XRP it is a great option at $0.23 today. Also, and opposite trade is the ultra private VERGE XVG. Look at XVG at 1/2 a US penny, half a cent! You can pick up over 2,000 of them heck 6,000 for chump change. I have a friend who threw down for 477,000 XVG.

Interesting at that price it's certainty easy enough to sit on a few hundred coins, thanks.

Choose from top 50 List.

Thx, I'll keep that in mind too.

Thanks and best of luck.

Congrats! I am fairly new myself and would love to find a portfolio watch site. I have the coinomi app on my phone, has a ton of coins, bu al lot of older unpopular coins, too.

Dollar cost averaging is always my advice. I like to stick with active projects rather than investing in something that is not much more than a business plan.

Sounds like some the other guys have some great advice too, and I do really love the coinmarketcap website.

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11