Everything is down. New crypto investor & my thoughts on HODL'ing during this plunge.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

My first investment was in May of 2017. I have been riding the waves of crypto ever since then and building up my portfolio.

Today is the first time where I am truly shocked by the volatility I have seen with my portfolio value going lower and lower.

When I set out on this journey I told myself that I would go where my investments take me. I believe in the coins I have, the value they bring and the lives it will change around the world.

In this moment, I am seeing this plunge as an opportunity for further investment into the projects I care about. Although I am not completely informed as to why this is happening.. I know that soon enough things will correct and bounce back.

Sort:  

Ive been investing since Feb. of 2016 and I can telle you that patience pays. Everything I owned last year has grown minimum 10x upto 100x + even on others so Unless u need the money Don't sell low

That is definitely good to hear. I am a longterm investor and do not plan to sell for years to come. Eventually I would like to use these coins to transact once the projects complete.

Some people see significant drops and the fear, uncertainty and doubt (FUD) sets in because they bought at the highest highs. So what do they do? They panic sell at the lowest lows. Then what happens next? The price shoots back up! Then they start FOMOing (fear of missing out) and buy back at a much higher price then they sold at. They never learn because they keep doing this. Keep doing what you're doing and HODL!

Don't' be shocked by the volatility as this is just the way things are. We are still in the wild west as it becomes more mainstream volatility will subside. Wise words non the less - proud of ya!

Well said Jgurv. We all need to take a step back and realize the predicaments that we put ourselves in when we FUG & FOMO takes over.

Don't panic except shit coins all the good coin nearly always recover and go up. Till it dont crash and you don't sell its OK.

It took 2 years for bitcoin to recover from the crash in 2014. So you got to be prepared to hold for years to recover.

I definitely agree about not panicking. This was the first time I was genuinely shocked by the drops happening. I see this as a great buying opportunity.

Bitcoin going down. That's mostly what is happening. A lot of the time when Bitcoin is going most of the altcoin follow Bitcoin trajectory because they are for the most part traded in Bitcoin.

It makes sense that bitcoin is the driver for alt coins. When did you start investing in cryptocurrency?

2012 I first learned about Bitcoin in mid-June 2011.

This has happened a few times in the last months and they always bounce back as long as it's a good coin buy more if you can while they are down!

Love it! My portfolio currently contains 13 different coins. My top 3 coins are 50% of my holdings. I am waiting for some funds to transfer into my gdax account from a week ago. It takes forever for things to deposit..

Great! Good luck I will give you a follow :)

Thank you!:) I have followed you as well.

Hang strong! Anything worthwhile will go through valleys before it hits new peaks! :)

I completely agree with you and I appreciate the support. It is a great learning opportunity for me since it is my first experience with a major correction.

Would love to see your portfolio and maybe why you have purchased what you have already.. also loving the shirt girl.. a few years it will be "vintage" :p

Thanks!! :) It is one of my favorite shirts. Yeah I could put a post together with the coins that I have currently and why I am backing them.

Do you have any coins you have particular interest in?

Yeah that would be intresting to watch, you should do it:)
tbh most of the coins on shapeshift.io hold value. But my personal opinion at the moment is;
VERI
POT
VOX
BTS
OBITS
ADX

Yeap the top and you in it are cute :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59