My quick rant about “bitcoin is a scam”

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

I find it mind-blowing how so many people are quick to chalk up cryptocurrency as a scam or Ponzi scheme. Bitcoin obviously gets it the worst being the most popular of the cryptos, but I just don’t understand why there’s so much negativity and hatred towards something. In a day where almost everyone talking about it has internet and the resources to research the matter and at least somewhat understand it, why just write it off instead of taking a second to learn about it?

The other thing that gets under my skin is that as soon as companies like Square, Craigslist, etc start accepting it, all of a sudden people think that something changed and that NOW it is officially acceptable to look into it after talking so much smack about it. I have a family member that told me over and over again how much of a scam it is. To be honest, at first I didn’t know much about it but I researched and asked the right people questions. My family member just kept his head buried in the sand until yesterday.

Apparently yesterday’s Litecoin jump and some CNN article for some reason made him a believer. He wired me $200 to start investing for him. I just don’t get it. How are you willing to throw money at something that you won’t take the time to understand or at least research on your own? The world is a strange place.

Rant over.

Sort:  

Resteemed! I have had the same rant in my head now for 5 years! I have made a point of talking to every friend and family member about crypto since 2011, and not one single person got involved with me. My daughters friend earlier this year had an open mind and he jumped in after just a simple talk about the philosophy behind the Satoshi whitepaper. It is like those that should have the most trust in me, brush it off and those that barely know me listen. I will not be an investor for anyone but myself however. They will have to learn on their own, as there are too many legal and tax pitfalls that I am not willing to get into.

Congratulations @pdotsmirf! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28