SCAM ALERT: My Friend Has Been Left Homeless from Bitcoin Scam Site

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

19601171_318810708560411_7077599175054554124_n.jpg
Actual pic of him sleeping on the streets

My friend Joe may not be the most discerning guy in the world, but he's got a big heart. He's been down on his luck for a while now (it's hard to get by in a big city window washing full-time). He's been wanting to invest in crypto for months, but just hasn't had the funds. Finally, he manages to scrap together $2000 USD via working extra shifts/selling some things on craigslist.

He purchases some bitcoin.
We're both super excited.

This is where the story takes a turn for the worst. He then tells me that someone he's been chatting to on Facebook told him to put his bitcoin into the website www.bitcomet.biz---that he could make 9% daily interest on his investment. "9% daily! That's impossible," I replied in shock. He showed me the website. It was very sleek and well designed. I subsequently sat down with him and calculated his potential returns.

His gross return if he continued to reinvest his payouts:
(Remember he invested app. $2000)

1 year: ~$65,700
2 years: ~$2,223,945
3 years: ~$73,056,593
4 years: ~$2,399,909,088
5 years: ~$78,837,013,549
10 years: All the money in the world

I told him, "Look, there is no way this can be legitimate. Get your money off of this website now!" He informed me that had already tried withdrawing some of the payouts and it wasn't working. The website was shutdown the following day and my buddy was out almost an entire bitcoin (which is a lot for him!). This was a little over a month ago. Several other monetarily taxing events have conspired against him since then and he couldn't keep up with his rent. I know he'll bounce back, but for now he's sleeping on the streets.

Takeaway:

  1. Websites like www.bitcomet.biz are visually appealing and look legitimate on their surface. I believe that the overall design has become a kind of website theme at this point--being mirrored across different web addresses.

  2. Companies offering very-high rates of return for unlimited amounts of money with very-little/zero risk are always a scam!!!!

  3. Stay vigilant--particularly in this environment where virtually everyone is making money. Don't allow yourself to become complacent.

Lastly if you'd like to help my friend get back on his feet please feel free to donate to Bitcoin Address: 1Q7yVzBevSVGv3iS3hYtLtiJwMufa6jwgY
Ether Address: 0x1Fe910DfEf4D8b25ca7B312a531E69bf4ffB7c58
All donations will go to him.

Sort:  

This is quite a story. Good luck for your friend!

I have approached crypto currency with the up most caution. Every wallet I've transferred coins to, I have done a test transfer of the smallest amount possible. This has actually saved me once before as I transferred to a BCN wallet and never received the funds.
I think you should post your friend's public wallet to accept donations. Maybe the community will help him out enough to get out of the streets?

Great idea! Just created a wallet that people can donate to if they'd like to help him get back on his feet. He will receive all donations. I'll keep everyone updated on his progress if it actually collects a little bit of money.

Bitcoin Address: 1Q7yVzBevSVGv3iS3hYtLtiJwMufa6jwgY

Donate me Bitbean so I can convert into Bitcoins and send your friend

The lesson is simple and old, "If it's too good to be true, it probably is"

Congratulations @pbot64! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39