Discussion: Why the lack of women in the crypto-verse.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

gettyimages-555000195.jpg

So something has been perplexing me as of late. I recently went to a local bitcoin meetup. There were at least 30+ people at bitcoin meet-up and every single one of them was male. Additionally, the chat that I made on Facebook (which anyone can join) is composed entirely of guys.

It's not like women aren't capable.

Are they perhaps more risk averse?

What are your thoughts?

Sort:  

I was wondering the exact same thing @pbot64!! I have just recently joined the crypto movement, and have noticed a large deficit of feminine presence. Looking forward to connecting with other women in this community!!! I'm going to follow and re blog

I've heard of studies that suggest men are 500% more likely to take risks than women, especially with finances. Currently, there are many stages of risks involved in crypto: how to buy, where to trade, where to store, will it get hacked, will I be able to take it out, and of course will it be worth anything at all?

When these successive hurdles of risk go down, the less risky will move in, which will make the market less risky.

But it will be ruled by sneaky traders!

I do not think it is only about the risk factor. I mean you don`t risk anything to go to a meetup which is about blockchains. So women could actually show up and be part of it. The Blockchain scene is currently dominated by men because the whole computer science space is still dominated by men. If women get to know the potential of blockchain they would definitely be part of it.

I was having a similar thought @geronimo! I was also intimidated by the whole blockchain and technology thing, and I decided I needed to jump in and see what it's all about. I'm learning a lot, and my fear has melted significantly.

No it is the mother nature. They are looking over those crypto heads working every day and thinking hard

what has nature to do with all of it ?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63396.80
ETH 2615.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.86