I Developed a Desktop Client For CoinMarketCap

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Story

Many cryptocurrency traders and hodlers check out the prices regularly because they know a day in this Wild West means a full month in the traditional investment space.

I personally fell in love with the tech behind cryptocurrencies when I read the whitepapers a couple of months ago. I invested in what I considered it had intrinsic value and, naturally, now I want to keep track of my money. CoinMarketCap is a great tool for that, but there’s a problem.

Being a developer who also suffers of tabmania on Chrome, it’s almost impossible to properly keep in touch with my cryptos. Just take a look. It takes ages to look for the right tab.


That’s why I decided to kick off a simple but working desktop client for CoinMarketCap, as on a few searches on Google I only found poor, undocumented attempts.

Incentive

Simple enough, at the core of the app there is a webview which wraps the official website. At the moment, there are 4 advantages of using the desktop version:

  1. Running in its own window, it won’t get mixed up with your normal browsing
  2. Has its own special icon in the dock/ task bar/ alt+tab list/ cmd+tab list/ start menu
  3. You can set it to launch on startup
  4. When you have to quit the web browser because something made it go nuts and it started to use 1,000% CPU and 10 GB RAM, the client will continue to run (and the same goes for your ordinary browsing if it’s the client that’s causing the problem)

Also, there are automatic updates, which is really important due to the fact there are some really cool features coming soon.

Roadmap 🚀

  • Refresh button
  • Automatic refresh
  • Ability to set notifications when a specific price is hit
  • Develop the same app for other coin tracking websites, such as CoinGecko

Contribute

The source code is, of course, open source and anyone can contribute. As I will be constrained by time, I encourage you to try and play with the project.

https://github.com/PaulRBerg/CoinMarketCap-Desktop

Build instructions are in the bottom of the README file. For feature requests and bug reports please submit an issue or get in touch with me on Gitter or Twitter @PaulRBerg.

Download

Below you can find download links for your favourite OS:

  • Windows (32 and 64 bits, Windows 7 and later)
  • Mac OSX (64 bits, Minimum 10.9)
  • Linux (Ubuntu 12.04, Fedora 21, Debian 8)

Website: https://coinmarketcapdesktop.com

Support

If you thing the app has true intrinsic value and it would help others, please consider sharing this article.Donations welcome. I will return your act of kindness tenfold by further developing tools and projects for the community.

  • Bitcoin: 38fyAV4dReCog38JRA9UaoPfeh9RqrmhHQ
  • Ethereum: 0x7deb85db0D84CFef5a5b9BDeb868Ac4cF269538d
  • Litecoin: LQZ9LqqEiLjMK1DrTCdDKoRndVfpxF74Rt
  • Ripple: rMAEGkK7x1kwKU42z8ephN2RLcV1mVoZLF

Thank you for reading. Here are some cookies for you!

If you enjoyed this article, would you mind to clap it or share it? It’d be greatly appreciated ✌️

Find me on Twitter or LinkedIn if you want to chat.

Sort:  

Saw your post on /r/bitcoinmarkets, figured I'd upvote where it actually counts!

Cheers!

Haha thank you so much!

Nice job done :) Going to download and check it soon! :)

Awesome! This is super cool man!

As a fellow programmer getting into Steemit, have you heard of Utopian.io? It's another Steem-based website that integrates with Github. It lets your open-source contributions be viewed as content that can be upvoted, and I believe they have a bot that upvotes users who contribute.

I think you should give that a try while you continue this, explore another avenue of networking and revenue in the blockchain you don't normally see and give that a try. They might really like this project over there :)

Many thanks! I'll take a look at Utopian.

This is a great post ! Thanks.
I've tried your coinmarketcap client for MacOS, you've done a great job !

Sadly, from the user's point of view, it's seems just to be an iframe running on it's own windows without the possibility to watch multiple currency at once (or any other functionality for that matter).
I can easily have the same result by opening it on a separate windows.

Great initiative tho, i'm looking forward to see other functionalities coming in ;)

I thank you for downloading it! Indeed, for the enduser it might look like a simple app, but check out this:

  • Several backend servers used to pull automated updates using Squirrel (only for Mac and Windows)
  • Continous integration using Travis, Circle and AppVeyor, which run the code and upload it to Bintray and Github (depending upon the branch)
  • Analytics built-in
  • Launch on Startup

The project was forked initially, but even though to make it work with your own servers takes hefty time because there's no step-by-step tutorial.

To conclude, I just wanted to develop a solid, scalable, but clean app. This is just version 1.0.0; there are many updates to come, what I did was to check if there's demand for it.

#bitcoin
Maybe someday I ll get rich when bitcoin prices go up again

#bitcoin
If I look at bitcoin prices now, I ll get dizzy because I ve sold them

#bitcoin
really as you say, I should learn first

I recommend @dan.jeffries1's articles, they are great. Take a look at this one, especially.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66543.69
ETH 3327.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71