You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Exploring alternate ways to contribute to the community...

I definitely think this is a great idea. You know how technically challenged I am..lol..so any tools created to make better of use of the steemit platform should be rewarded in similar or superior ways than someone plagiarizing a meme and making $100.

I think a lobbying bot would definitely improve the environment of Steemit and add some accountability to those who wield the power(Witnesses) I nominate @novacadian as witness President based on Rob's Rules of Parliamentary Procedure.. : ) With your programming skills and technology savvy, have you considered setting up a witness?

Sort:  

Thanks for your vote of confidence, Papa. :)

steemd is installed on my home server and the blockchain has been downloaded. In the process of syncing the blockchain at the moment. Having a few technically difficulties. Please remain calm and keep your seats in an upright position. ;)

To actually apply as a Witness will take more than having the needed software readied. It looks like redundancy is needed. If your server should go offline for some hardware reason you really should have another to plug in or be renting a server on the net that has such redundancy. The cheapo server of mine of the net always takes a great deal of whining to get a port opened up. You get what you pay for. There is only the one server at home at the moment.

Missing blocks can cause one to loose their position in the Witness Hierarchy.

Some days it seems that the full depth of Steemit has only been scratched by me. For example suggesting a software "no upvoting yourself" check only to find that it has Witness approval for the next fork. So a deeper understanding of this wonderful system is in order before considering to offer my services; for the mere fact the present Witnesses probably know a lot more about what is going on here than me. ;)

Looks like there is much more to it than I realize. I definitely think I barely comprehend the opportunities within Steemit, much less blockchain technology as a whole. I was reading a post from another gentleman who has a witness setup and he was running into the redundancy problem you mentioned. One thing that struck me about his post was the willingness of other witnesses and the witness community to rally around him to help him get things straightened out.

Well as you are researching and studying bots....I have no problem throwing you 100 DVC for a flawless crypto trading bot if you guarantee it will always win trades!

Well as you are researching and studying bots....I have no problem throwing you 100 DVC for a flawless crypto trading bot if you guarantee it will always win trades!

On it! lol!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58171.46
ETH 2472.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42