You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A small note on an unobserved cryptocurrency named Gulden (NLG)

Being Dutch I have known about Gulden for a while, but I still can't wrap my mind around the fact that it actually survived... One thing that always bothered me is the fact Gulden is a more or less Dutch-oriented coin. Non-Dutch won't be nearly as drawn to it. Furthermore, I spotted Amsterdam Coin as well the other day. I'm not sure what to think of all of these, and wether or not I believe there is room for all these smaller coins within the larger scheme of things.

I feel like Bitcoin is going to be accepted relatively widely at some point (as it almost already is) but Gulden is hugely dependent on in-between payment providers including them in the payment methods.
I don't see why anyone in the distant future would ever opt to trade in their FIAT for digital Guldens or Amsterdam coins, instead of just opting for good ol' Bitcoin (or even Dash). It seems like the only ones spending Guldens or Amsterdamcoins would be the investors... and an ecosystem needs more than just investors.
Maybe if in all of the Netherlands you could get a 5% discount when using these coins, they would be used more, but this is of course not the case. I don't see the use case when more established coins are available...
I'd love to see it succeed though, being Dutch!

Sort:  

I understand that, but considering a dutch community being able to buy Gulden using fiat and getting discounts on may items including food, entertainment and shopping since many merchants are accepting this by the feasibility of a usable mobile app enhances the structure of this coin. If may more merchants start accepting this all over the euro zone the impact can be larger and I am sure the team is trying to achieve that sooner than later.

If that happens then sure it would grow in value. But if it's the eurozone they are after, then I am not sure the Netherlands and it's past currency is really popular or even known enough to garner much support. Wouldn't a digital Euro-coin crypto have wider appeal for that purpose?
Not only that, there is also a german e-Mark or something and probably a few more nostalgically named other coins based off of past currencies.

I think it's hard enough for the likes of Litecoin, Dash, Monero, etc. to get a real foothold, let alone a really tiny crypto like these..
I think in the long run, all crypto will go up so even Gulden will. But others will probably go up faster, and higher..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.026
BTC 57960.12
ETH 2482.73
SOL 155.31
SBD 2.43