List of places where you can get FREE cryptocurrency right away, that actually work, with a minimal amount of effort (not faucets)

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)


Do you need some funds to get started with cryptocurrency? I have compiled a short list of websites where you can collect free cryptocurrency immediately, either for you to hold and in many cases to sell on an exchange for the crypto of your choice. Always take all safety precautions, like using unique passwords and ideally not your primary e-mail addresses. Most of these in the list I have done myself with positive results, with the exception of LBRY. Not all of them are tradeable yet, but most are.

Free Stellar coins:
If you had a Bitcoin or Ripple wallet on June 27th with funds in them, you may be eligible to receive free Stellar Lumens, which can be traded on major exchanges such as Poloniex and Bittrex. You have up to August 27th to collect your free Stellar Lumens.
For more information and signup links visit the Stellar blog

Free CLAM coins (payout in BTC possible):
If you owned a Bitcoin, Litecoin or Dogecoin wallet back in 2014 even if you had zero funds in them you may be eligible to receive free CLAM coins. This requires you to upload your old wallet to the website linked below, so before you do this be sure to transfer your funds into a new secure wallet and change your password on the old wallet just to be certain. You get free CLAMs for every address, so if you used an Electrum wallet you may get quite a lot of CLAMs because these have multiple addresses. You can opt to be paid out in BTC directly, which is the option I went for. You can upload your old wallets by following this link. The site currently reports paying out approximately 0.00575547 BTC per address, which would be about 20-25$ at today's prices.
(SUPERTIP: I actually got the most free crypto from this site, because I had wallets for each of the coins mentioned. I think I got about $150 worth of crypto at the time a few months back when BTC was worth less.. much wow indeed)

Free WCX tokens:
WCX is a new cryptocurrency which has yet to reach ICO stage and cannot be traded on marketplaces yet (this is planned for october). You can sign up for 50 free WCX tokens worth $5 by following the link below. You can't actually do anything with these yet. You can't trade or sell or transfer them, but you will likely be able to do so sometime in October. My personal estimate is that the price will rise higher than the current valuation, because this is the trend for all crypto. I see this as being potentially $50 worth of free crypto. These tokens also pay out dividends, collected from the transaction fees on their exchange. Very interesting if you ask me to hold on to these for a while. As always, use a password and email address that you don't normally use for security, and follow my referral link to sign up for free WCX tokens. I believe the free token handout will last up to the end of august.

Free LBRY Credits:
LBRY is handing out 10 free LBRY credits (about $0.33 each) for signing up and installing their beta browser. This process requires you to link your creditcard for identification. Afterwards you can earn some additional LBRY credits as rewards for watching some videos. I have not personally been able to confirm this since I don't want to link my creditcard to my account, but I believe LBRY to be a trustworthy party and have seen reports from others that this works. You can download the browser and sign up by following this link.

Free OMG tokens:
If you held Ethereum in a private wallet at a recent date (not yet disclosed) you will receive free OMG tokens from the OMG airdrop which will happen soon. OMG is a great project, so free OMG tokens is a great thing. Lucky you, if you have been holding on to your Ether. Read more about the upcoming airdrop here.

ong.Social
ong.Social is a very new social media platform and hub that generates ad revenue. Their token is not tradeable yet and the platform is super new, but they do give you $10 for signing up and making an account. I am assuming that at some point, this $10 worth of tokens will be tradeable on exchanges. Follow this link to sign up to ong.Social.



Do you know of any other places where free cryptocurrency is being handed out? Please do share!!

Sort:  

Thanks for the tips

Another good method to earn more cryptocurrency is by bounty hunting. The best platform to find cryptocurrency bounties is Bounty0x.
https://steemit.com/earnmoney/@niel96/earn-cryptocurrency-from-home-by-doing-tasks-on-bounty0x

You should add initiativeq to your list, they give away free crypto when you join them:
https://steemit.com/free/@niel96/you-can-get-free-cryptocurrency-here-when-joining

Cool! It's not faucets... I have signed up for the LBRY network, but I don't have a card yet. Soon, soon.

Thanks for sharing this awesome list, definitely going to grab the free coins while I can, cause if they go up while I'm holding...$$$

Yep! That's the plan..! If you like the project, then hold on to the coins and wait until they are worth more. LBRY I am actually invested in, I think it's a great project that has good potential.
And if you don't like the coins, just sell them at the exchanges for whatever coin you do like!
Good luck!

Yeah, thats my hope. After my utter failure with bitcoin, I have resolved to take any and all new currencies on offer (for free. I might selectively invest in a few.) and see what happens with them.
How is LBRY for you so far? pretty good?

Same here!
LBRY is something I have high hopes for. The market cap is only 25 million, which means it can easy double, triple or quadruple. They have a working beta right now. I'm holding on to them for a while. I only have like 5% of my portfolio in it though

Hey good article thanks for sharing. I have a small cryptocurrency blog that has a variety of promotion and offers if you are interested, check it out!

This is a great list. I clicked half expecting a list of faucets, but this is way better. DeepOnion are also having an airdrop, in exchange for wearing their signature on your BTCtalk profile and posting 10 posts. Easy money, if it's something you'd be doing anyway. I'll be checking these out, the ones I haven't already stumbled upon already.

Yes I considered mentioning DeepOnion but it requires a Bitcointalk account with a bunch of posts in order to qualify. I thought that wouldn't really count as 'easy and free' since quite a lot of effort goes into it. But yes anybody willing to go through the effort, I also think DeepOnion is a good one to try and pick up. I am actually waiting for Bitcointalk to unblock my account so I can start collecting them. It turned out I had an account from 2014 but it was compromised during a 2015 hack so it got blocked. Still waiting to hear back from them, 'cause I want some Onions.

I also changed the title of the post to include (not faucets) because indeed there's a ton of crap posts about faucets out there.

Yeah, I never was too interested in BTCT, but I signed up early, my user id is in the 50k area. So easy enough to follow the airdrop's requirements. DO's price shot up this morning, I get the feeling a bunch more people are going to be trying to join the airdrop soon. I wish I had a referral link, haha.

I wish I had a working Bitcointalk account!!

Thanks for posting! This is really beneficial.

You're welcome! I started out really small too, and these were a nice boost and allowed me to diversify a little. Hopefully it will help someone else... and the more people into crypto, the more we all win anyway!

Oh wow, thanks so much!! I really appreciate that! I'll follow you right back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66931.79
ETH 3249.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10