๐Ÿ“ž Largest Dutch Telecommunications company KPN will run NEO consensus node!!! ๐Ÿ˜Ž

in #cryptocurrency โ€ข 7 years ago

BASE HEADER neo KPN.png

The NEO Amsterdam Conference is currently taking place in capitol city of the Netherlands, and it has just been announced that KPN, which is the largest Telecommunications company in the Netherlands, is going to run a NEO full consensus node.

dividerline cartooney2.png

KPN

Being Dutch myself, I can confirm this is a pretty big deal. KPN is indeed the largest and oldest telecommunications provider in the Netherlands, originally state owned (the K stands for 'Koninklijke' which is Dutch for 'Royal') and privatized in the 1990's. It has since remained the largest player in the telecommunications space ever since. Many other telecommunications companies actually make use of the KPN network. KPN handles everything, from mobile phones to landlines, internet connections and digital television (all-in-one-packages). KPN as a company is worth about $12 billion USD.

dividerline cartooney2.png

NEO FULL NODE

During the NEO Amsterdam Conference it was announced that KPN will be running/hosting a NEO consensus node. This is likely part of the wider Decentralization effort that is going on with NEO. The Amsterdam Conference was sponsored by both NEO and KPN:

neosponsorkpn.png

While running a full node is no official partnership of any kind, and this wouldn't be so anyway as NEO aims to be a decentralized blockchain, but it does indicate the KPN is ready to build on, or experiment with the NEO blockchain which is a very good sign because KPN is by all standards a very serious and respected company.

The news of KPN running a consensus node was confirmed by one of City of Zion's developers on Twitter:

neocoztweetkpn.png
(source: Twitter)

dividerline cartooney2.png

CONFERENCE UPDATES

A lot of other things were discussed and explained during the NEO Amsterdam Conference. No, I was not there myself, but there are reports surfacing on the NEO subreddit that give a good oversight.

Have a look at this redditor's post to see an overview of everything that passed by during the NEO Amsterdam Conference 2018.

I'm ever so bullish on my precious, precioussss NEO! $150 today, certainly! But I've been seeing this as a $300-500 coin for a long time now, with GAS at about 50% of that.


footercartoon new5.png
(Art by Roy Lichtenstein)

Sort: ย 

NEO is a scam

Wow. Neo was already doing well and this has only helped the price further. Great news.

Yup, I agree, the future is bright in this NEO year!

Okay this is how speculations happen. IOTA was pumped due to misunderstanding that they had partnership with Microsoft when they were barely testing. Microsoft made them reaffirm that it wasn't a partnership and it got dumped. It could be bigger in the future but for now it seems its just they are testing something out.

It's not a NEO-KPN partnership, but KPN is going to run a full consensus node. This would be similar to KPN hosting a Bitcoin node. I think it's pretty good news and a sign that large corporations are taking NEO seriously

Great news. Is this really true? :D

Yes! I have no reason to doubt this news! It seems very legit

Ha, you were there as well?!

No, I didn't go, but I was looking for news about what happened there :)

Was tempted to go but wasn't sure if there was much for me there, not being a developer myself. And looking through the list of stuff that happened there was lots of non-interesting stuff among it too that I already knew anyway!

You went?

Too bad, some parts could have been interesting! But when it comes to valuable usage of your time, some summary will do as well ;-) BTW, Qlink was there as well with a talk. I don't want to speculate, but NEO, Qlink, KPN, same room :-P

But Qlink is a KPN competitor! Isn't it? They're looking to put old school telecommunications out of business?
I didn't really feel very attracted to Qlink. I liked DeepBrainChain but feel like I missed it.
The ones I am looking forward to are THEKEY (didn't get into the ICO tho, was too busy), and maybe NEX. With the current hype around DEX and exchange tokens, I need to look up what the NEX token does again

Qlink is definitely a competitor of a part of KPNs business, but will not be disruptive for a few years on a serious scale I think. Interesting for KPN to see what is going on :-)

I also think DeepBrainChain is more interesting, but I also missed it. Maybe VDT.network can do similar things, is not focussed on just AI and will probably announce their ICO during NEO DevCon SF on Jan 30/31.

TheKey is interesting, although it will be insanely difficult to get into the ICO tomorrow night at 3am with a chance of 1 in 30 (whitelisted).

NEX will be insanely interesting and definitely one I would like to go for. Probably more details on NEO DevCon as well. Today they didn't share a lot of extra info about it ;-)

I'm still not sure if NEX will be for trading NEO tokens only or if I'll also be able to trade BTC and ETH and all that on it. If it's the latter I would be a lot more excited about it than if it were the former!

They will start with NEP-5 tokens but end of this year also plan on adding ERC-20 tokens!

The race to integrate and make utility inclusive to everyone is going to prosper well. I believe Neo and NEP-5 is positioned well

That's good news! I hope they figure out how to handle BTC and other crypto's as well, maybe wrapping them like every other blockchain does anyway.
It's funny, I want to transact BTC ... on NEO. Yup. :)

This post has received a 25.00 % upvote from @steemthat thanks to: @pandorasbox. Thank you for your support. Stay Updated And Use Cool Tools At SteemThat.com Want Some Steemish Built On Ethereum? Get You Some!

Thanks for sharing! It is always exciting hearing about these things happening close to home! Go crypto!

This post has received a 2.09 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @pandorasbox.

i see neo going to 4 figures in the next year! im a neo hodler

You guys delivered again. Was waiting to be able to remove my NEP-5 tokens with a 0 balance.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64689.90
ETH 3450.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50