I've realized a new feature that crypto will unlock: Hyper-liquidity ⚡💰⚡

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

BASE HEADER hyper liquidity.png

We already know many of the advantages and features of blockchain such as censorship resistance, tokenization, micro-transactions, and so on, but I think I've just realized a new one, which I call Hyper-liquidity.

dividerline cartooney3.png

EASY COME, EASY GO

The concept came to me when I used some of my SBD earnings from Steemit to buy some of the latest tokens that caught my attention. I realized suddenly how different I used and spent my digital money compared to my 'real' FIAT money.

With any crypto that I make from Steemit, it just doesn't feel the same way as with the old money we're used to, and for some reason I experience a lower emotional connection with it than I have with my traditional money. Normally, I tend to save all my money. With crypto, however, I find that I spend most of it. On what? Digital stuff (tokens, most of the time right now).

Maybe it's a case of easy come, easy go. After all, Steemit earnings are different from traditional earnings. The earnings of Steemit kind of just appear. They're extra, so to speak.

This change in spending attitude could be quite significant as blockchain progresses. Not only will Steemit and other blockchain-based social media platforms grow, but there are also projects such as the Basic Attention Token which aim to let users earn crypto by simply browsing the web. The future will surely enable many people in the world to start earning crypto, in an almost passive way and practically everybody will have and earn some of it in the future.

Will they get greedy as with regular old FIAT and cash out into a savings bank? Or will they have a similar attitude as I have, and also feel less emotionally attached to their 'free' crypto?

dividerline cartooney3.png

HYPER-LIQUIDITY

Not only will blockchain open up and enable people to access previously untouchable wealth, I put forth that it will also herald an era of what I call hyper-liquidity and spending on the internet. In a world where everybody has a couple of dollars of crypto a day appearing in their browser/wallet/account, I believe that it will encourage easy spending of this income in a way that is very different from how people would normally spend their money.

Where nowadays paywalls scare many people away in this new future where digital money is easy and readily available to all, paywalls are a mere one-click hurdle to get by and it isn't so much the question if you want to pay but rather if that is the thing you want to pay for (or if it's something else) today. The same is true for many other payment-related aspects of the internet. Consider the tipping-economy, or upgrades to premium accounts, access to premium content, digital avatars or flair, and everything else that currently costs money on the internet but which most people currently choose not to pay for. After all, your money is hard earned. But what about the money that wasn't?

I believe that with easy money, comes easy spending. Not only will blockchain enable microtransactions to be possible to begin with, but I believe it will also cause us to massively make use of it once we're given access to easily available crypto. It may, in fact, be too bothersome to even consider cashing out to FIAT. Perhaps the amount is too low, or it's just too much hassle. Or perhaps it's because there are interesting things on the internet to purchase but the friction is currently just too much.

dividerline cartooney3.png

OPPORTUNITIES

With the unlocking of potentially billions of dollars of previously untouched wealth, and the advent of hyper-liquidity I believe there are massive opportunities for those who are able to attract these revenue streams of 'easy money'. If 7 billion people each have $1 a day to spend on something digital, then there is a $2.5 trillion dollar market of untapped revenue streams to profit from. And this could be on the conservative side.

These opportunities would lie primarily in digital services, assets or goods. I think we may see a resurgence of the 'premium access' business model and I imagine journalism may see somewhat of a revival. Game assets and access may also see a surge, as well as digital content such as music and video. And, after years of experimenting with Freemium and the bad reputation of pay-to-play, I think we may actually see a lot more pay-to-play than we have now. Don't be surprised to end up paying not only for access to a game, but also for digital items within it.

Charities should also benefit massively from hyperliquidity on the internet. I foresee a future where your aunt posts a Kitty-shelter banner on her facebook and you are able to one-click donate part of your 'easy money' to that cause. Something which you'd normally not bother to do - too much hassle.

dividerline cartooney3.png

When I consider the opportunities and potential and close my eyes to imagine the future, I can almost see it. And the future that I see is one where the digital economy far exceeds what it is today. E-commerce is already huge but hyperliquidity will change the game completely. It's not going to be about making a couple of good sales a day. That is the old game. The new game is going to be about how to get $1 dollar from everybody instead.

I'm curious to know your opinion! Do you experience the same as me, that your earned SBD's just feel different from 'real' money? Do you spend/give them away more easily than you do with regular dollars? Please share!


footercartoon new5.png
(Art by Roy Lichtenstein)

Sort:  

It is simply a question of mindset, fiat or crypto will not change anything about your spending habits!

It does for me, though! I really do spend my 'hard earned money' a lot differently from my 'easy come' money

@pandorasbox, incredible post, adding new knowledge to me, because I am still a beginner in Crypto

Thanks! Glad you find it helpful!

Crypto world is the future and we are lucky living in it. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 61915.54
ETH 3000.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59