Help me decide which crypto to buy next!

BASE HEADER whichcryptonext.png

These last two months I have slowly consolidated most of my altcoin/crapcoin positions into the more serious crypto's, and I am feeling pretty happy with most of my positions. So much so, that I am not sure I should add more to them, or instead diversify and add something new to my portfolio (here we go again..). Who better to ask for advice than you guys!

dividerline cartooney2.png

CURRENT PORTFOLIO

In order to give advice first you need to know what I have, obviously. Many of my frequent readers will already know my favorites, but for clarity's sake I will list my current holdings and percentage distribution:

Big hodlsSmall hodlsWilling to sell/trade
45% NEO2.5% IOTA8% STRAT
16-17% BTC2% EOS
13-14% ETH1-2% XMR
7% OMG0.7% ZRX
-0.5% BAT
-0.3% GNT

So as you can see most my portfolio consists of: NEO, BTC, ETH, STRAT and OMG. I am waiting for the right time to sell my STRAT for BTC, which should increase my percentage in BTC to about 20-25% of my total portfolio which is a number I feel comfortable with.

Other than that specific move, I feel pretty happy with these main positions and don't see myself selling any of these in the near term. I am not sure I should add to them more either - perhaps I should instead focus on one of my smaller holds and increase those, or add something new.

My small holds are long term oriented. BAT and GNT I will not add to, in any case. XMR is a recent addition, and I'm happy to hold only this small amount of it and do not seek to add to this either.

dividerline cartooney2.png

THE OPTIONS TO BUY

Now that I finished up my Monero(XMR) buying into my portfolio, I am starting to think what to add next. Monero I wanted, because I feel it is one of the 'core' cryptocurrencies out there and I've always felt my portfolio was lacking some.

Now I am looking for more that my portfolio 'needs'. I have identified a few options and paths to follow:

  1. Increase my position in IOTA
    Has many partnerships, revolutionary design and concept, I see big things for this in the future
  2. Increase my position in 0x Protocol/ZRX
    Decentralized exchanges are going to blow up, ZRX seems well positioned and adopted
  3. Increase my position in EOS
    This too has a future, and my position is not that big despite being one of the oldest hodlers of it. I also have doubts about this, though, hence the small position.
  4. Add RaiBlocks/Nano/XRB to my portfolio
    XRB is making a lot of waves, and I have felt the attraction for a long time, but I also have my doubts about adoption and the tech. IOTA seems better positioned with similar tech but other focus. Still I would not want to miss the boat.
  5. Add Ark to my portfolio
    Ark is a platform crypto that is well respected and most appeals to me because of the staking benefits to holders (5% ROI), similar to my attraction to NEO it involves no tech skills to stake. It's also relatively low cap and off the radar. I could potentiall replace this with KMD or BLOCK if I find good arguments for it.
  6. Just get more ETH or BTC

dividerline cartooney2.png

CURRENT THOUGHTS

Right now I am leaning towards increasing my position in IOTA, ZRX, or adding XRB or Ark, or just get more ETH. One consideration I have with these choices is that I will only be putting $200 or so into it, as I will be making these purchases with my SBD profits over the course of the coming weeks. So this is more to 'finish off' my portfolio rather than to build another core asset. As such some benefits as lost to me if they require larger investments (such as KCS).

I'm really curious to know what you all think I should do! I'm open to hearing alternative suggestions too, but don't get upset if I'm not into it.. I checked coinmarketcap thoroughly and if your pick didn't make the list I probably have my reasons.

What would you do in my position?


footercartoon new5.png
(Art by Roy Lichtenstein)

Sort:  

First read our opus on XRB, Raiblocks...
https://steemit.com/cryptocurrency/@harpooninvestor/raiblocks-master-crypto-series-because-everyone-deserve-their-own-blockchain
Then realize there's a catalyst in the future Binance listing.
Like it a lot better than Iota, altho we haven't fully explored Iota, it just sounds like it's going to take too much time. But then again, Ether rocketed well before anything was really built on it, so maybe we have it backwards?

2nd theme: ETH and NEO over BTC
Ether's platform SHOULD begin to prove itself in 2018, which could then bring back the talk of it overtaking bitcoin. in any case, we view Ethereum as much more interesting bc of what's brewing in the community (like ERC-20 based exchanges which are private)

ZRX: Love it, should be a big theme this year, any decentralized exchanges will be a big hit in 2018, as Binance now rules the roost but those on older exchanges should begin migration.

Prefer BTS over Eos, is anything on Eos yet? BTS at least has a working exchange.

Don't like your reasoning on Ark whatsoever, never buy for a dividend. that said, it's another crypto we don't know much about, but if all it is, is a platform, blehhh

Really like Neo for it's potential add to BitFlyer and Stellar for its possible inclusion on Coinbase. But Raiblocks has them both trumped bc it just went down for a very poor reason with the BitGrail (manipulation?) situation.

We are stuck in Steem tho, which we actually think might be the best of them all. So maybe it's a good thing we don't have a trading account, but that doesn't stop us from transferring our extensive experience in stocks and bubble-markets into crypto-ideas, short, medium (catalyst-based), and long term.

Again, check out our Raiblocks post, might shed a new light on it both catalyst-based (see comments) and for longer term competitive aspect to bitcoin which we think is heavily flawed and far too ensconced with government at this point. Who runs bitcoin now, the ghost of Satoshi or Nancy Pelosi and Donald Trump?

I'm Buying IOTA, NEO , XBR & MNZ token
For more info about MNZ follow this link https://monetizecoin.io/5a6190862e499 ( it's m'y refferal link and if you use it i'll send you some token so please use it it's good for everyone thank guys)

Hmm I really like the way you think. Thats it I'm stalking you lol.. I hod a position in XBY just in case it is even better than "nano", certainly it has room to grow. I have a ridiculously large position in powered up Steem rented to minnow booster, (my own posts dont hold traction, no matter how much I throw at them). I enjoy the daily div. but I also know that I could make way more simply trading the volatility, while remaining agile. Not sure why I dont power down... I guess I am still very intrigued by this platform and its users..

prolly have the right idea in staying powered up. Either you're in Steem for $80 per steem, or just sell and stop posting, no? Would be nice if Steem could figure out how to clean up its act a bit tho.

don't know anything about XBY, what's the one-liner on it?

super fast, scalable DAG, can build DAPs on it, like IOTA was supposed to be. testing my memory. Ended up staying in powered up STEEM and posting. I like it here.

You have some solid choices there. I have been holding Ark for most of 2017 and I'm very happy with it. If you vote for a delegate, depending on the delegate you will get payouts. My delegate gives me 2 payouts a day, but I have a pretty significant amount. I also just recently got back into Lisk. If you check out my last post, you will see why I'm bullish on Lisk. Raiblocks just rebranded to Nano, and is doing well today. So many choices. Good luck!

Lisk is one of the 'Ark alternatives' I would potentially consider. Just like Komodo really.
But Ark appeals to me a lot because of the easy staking method. I don't like hosting a node, too much involved and energy costs, etc. Is the payout approximately 5% like I've read?

It varies a bit, but yea I would say between 5-7%. Pretty sweet deal. And you don't even have to have your computer on or wallet open. Just vote for your delegate and that's it.

Long Term: (2/3 years) Power Ledger under $1, Rentberry ICO on now, almost hit hardcap. Bitshares is going to be big after the centralized exchanges have problems with future Hacking or reliability problems. Enjin coin has loads of stuff happening around Q4 2018 and should be $2 + by then. EOS of course is a given for me at least.

Thanksfor the tips! PowerLedger I'm not sure about.. Rentberry I never heard of but will look into!
Bitshares is another option I was actually considering of buying. Would be a good way to get into the DEX part of it too

I think you can’t go wrong with IOTA (although, it’s crypto, so you never know). I recently got myself some Cardano (ADA). It’s a very promising coin and it’s still very low cost (about $0.5), so you can get plenty for your $200 ;0)

I agree that Cardano (ADA) is a good option.

Thanks for the suggestions!
I still have a strong tendency to go with more IOTA too yes, it seems decently priced now. ADA I disregarded.. I don't like Charles Hoskinson much and it's grown so much without a product that I don't quite like it much.

I would consider Steem/Steem Power because you can use it to make money through self voting your quality content or delegate it to any number of places for a daily dividend. It makes a ton of sense if you think STEEM is undervalued currently.

I’m also looking at ZRX, NEO, XLM, ADA to add to ETH/BTC/STEEM/EOS.

I would love to add more EOS but there is a ton of hype built in right now which makes me a little nervous.

I'm already saving up 50% of my steemit profits into Steem Power though! So it's the other 50% in SBD that I am looking at!

I like STEEM because the platform is already useful, proven and solid. Blogging is much more difficult than sharing cat photos, so I dont think it is realistic to compare it to facebook. I am concerned that SBD correction will crash the STEEM price when yield seekers like me, lose their incentive. ZRX - thanks for reminding me to add to that position.

it's the wild west and no one if sure what they are doing in this environment, no unless you are buying to hodl , i think cardano is great since they have a long way to go.

Cardano would be an option if it were cheaper! But as soon as it hit the markets it was already 700K, then it skyrocketed to crazy proportions. I feel it's risky buying in now, and not much profits to be had if I only invest a little bit

I would take a serious look at ICX it is already working in the real world and they have many partners and government support in South Korea.

Since I know you have excellent taste as a NEO hodler, I am now watching youtube vids about Icon to see if this is what I need!

ICX is my other serious long term hodl.
They have probably the biggest team of any crypto out there and they have been working on in it for years.

Can you sell me on it? So far it seems like it's 'same as NEO but for Korea' ? I feel NEO is much more global nowadays too. Maybe I need to do more research, the first video I watched didn't sell me on it yet

It is very similar to NEO ....
They are already partnered with Banks,Universities and Insurance companies in South Korea so they are already way ahead of any crypto as far as real world business partnerships already in place. We all know how crazy SK is about crypto and it has not even hit a major exchange in SK yet. I'm pretty sure once it hits exchanges there its going to see huge pump in price.
I don't want to sell you anything that you don't think looks good though.

Personally i buy XRP, IOTA and Neo

If I were you i would get more IOTA, because they are very cheap right now
and have very high potential due to their unique technology.

Thanks, I am definitely considering it!

Maybe Oyster or Elixir.
Neblio is also pretty cheap. But as always dyor before buying!

Thanks for the suggestions!
But I fear all those options are too small a market cap for my current tastes :(

But thats where the profit can be made 😎
Oyster will launch their testnet today. It could easily become a top 50 coin. At least that is what I hope!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65