Electroneum Mining on a Mobile Phone - An Opportunity or a Waste of Time ?

Mining for the Masses

There was a lot of hype recently about Electroneum. The Coin you can mine on your phone ! I thought what a great idea. Get people interested and familiar with crypto and perhaps even earn a bit while you sleep. So I set up a wallet a while ago using the command line set up on my laptop. It was such a tortured process I was left a bit fried but with a working, paper wallet.

electroneum.jpg

The reason I ended up on the PC was that the mobile app just didn't work. They made a huge miscalculation and that was that. My conclusion was that my trusty 2 year old Samsung phone would probably die if I tried mining electroneum. I was likely to make a few pennies at best and the phone is worth a lot more. ( I do have an old one I could use instead). I actually doubted whether I'd even make enough to replace the battery which was doubtless going to get burned in the process.

electroneum1.jpg

Anyhoo

So today I noticed that the electroneum app on my phone, (which I had totally forgotten about) had a delete sticker over the top of the app icon. I thought that was weird so I had a closer look. It turns out electroneum had released a new version of the app. Out of curiosity I downloaded the new one and deleted the old one. I set up a new login.

The Longest Set Up Ever

I couldn't quite believe how long the set up took. It was a mental assault course just setting up an account. To make things worse, every stage was accompanied by iffy captcha which failed half the time due to time out. Also the really annoying pictures ones too, which say bridges and you have to look really carefully cos' everything looks so small on screen. It seemed worthy of a CIA login. you had to have a password, (which it very carefully analysed, a 5 digit pin. you had to confirm by email (link) then get an SMS code, then put a backup email address in for the pin, then confirm that. As mentioned with captcha's in between.

I eventually got in and it took a long time to update. I even managed to import the first wallet I set up. I think I might have mined about 3 coins on it. It's now in pending mode.

PHONE

I logged in on the phone to see if I could start generating a few ETN's while they were cheap as chips, you wouldn't believe what greeted me ! this screen

Screenshot_20171215-222337.png

BlockChain Evangelism

I'm fond of the chain, I espouse it's many qualities everywhere I go. I am usually quite generous, even if things are a bit sketchy. It's early days. Some chains are slow (LBRY) but good. some congested networks make trading coins very difficult.. mmm but generally I like to find the good point. Electroneum seems quite well set up. The UX is good. I have heard some critics suggest that it's just a way for them to use your phone to run their network.. Surely that's what mining on a blockchain is, ASICS chips, GFX cards or just plain multi-core phone processors. Anyway we'll see what happens. I'd like to mine some electroneum.

electroneum3.jpg

I wanted to get some mining experience to add to my BlockChain knowledge as it's the one area I don't know much about. There are some good pools and I've read lots of reviews with mining ranging from a couple to hundreds of ETN gained. Some pools seem to lose a lot of coins as orphans. Poor creatures. I'm hoping I will have some positive results. I would like to come back here and say, hey those xxxx amount of electroneum I mined on the phone were actually worth spending the time on. they're now worth. 10 pennies each, etc blah, massive crypto ROI. I don't think phone mining is going to be worth much, but if it gets people into the idea of crypto in a soft way ! hey what's not to like about that ?

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by outerground from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 0.39 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

if you have acess to many mobiless it may be bit profit i think, bether than nathing ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85