3 things you should know before you buy a Ledger Nano S

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Hey everyone

To be clear I like the Ledger Nano S but there are things I did not know about it when I bought it. Here are my top 3:

Storage

It sounds good that you can store your cryptos on a hardware wallet, but you know the storage on the Ledger Nano S is way too small to have use all wallets? Actually, I can use only for 4 wallets. Unable to install application. So, I`ve to choose between;

2017-09-09 (1).png!
2017-09-09 (2).png

  • BTC
  • BCH
  • ETH & ERC20 Tokens
  • DASH
  • LTC
  • STRAT
  • DOGE
  • ZEC
  • KMD
  • XRP
  • ARK
  • PoSW
    2017-09-09.png

For me it is a hard decision. Before you buy one you should know it. The Ledger Nano S supports also Fido U2F & Windows Hello (both are authentication tools). It was for me possible to have 4 Wallets installed and one authentication tool.

Apps

The next thing I do not like on the ledger Nano S are the bunch of plugins and apps. Just an example if I want to use the Bitcoin, Bitcoin Cash and Litecoin wallet I have a chrome Plug in " Ledger Wallet Bitcoin". Names like " Ledger wallet BTC, BCH and LTC" would be more helpful. For Ethereum and Ethereum Classic is another wallet Plug in " Ledger wallet Ethereum". You can also use myetherwallet.com. For Ripple is there a windows application. I am a big fan of the simple user interface but I wish there would be one plugin or application for every supported coin this would be awesome.

Private Key

Where are my Private keys?
I know there is a way to get the private keys from Ethereum but there is no way for the other coins. I ‘would like to have the private key. Who knows what happens when there will be a network attack ? Or maybe there would be a terrorist in Paris again and, by random, explode there a bomb. OK I know this is far away from the topic.

If you liked this article upvote the article let me know what do you think about it the comments.

Sort:  

Congratulations @onevote! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote
You published your First Post
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @onevote! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Totally agree with your remarks about the Ledger Nano S regarding the apps. I use it for MEW, Ripple, Stellar and NEO, and all run with different apps/links, for which the Ledger only works as a log-in device. Nevertheless, I like the opportunities this cold-wallet offers in terms of personalization. For the "coins", I do prefer my Trezor, which provides me informations about my accounts with only one Chrome extension.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63186.04
ETH 3392.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50