Mining Dash at Home: Month 2 Update

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone, it’s time for the regular

Home Mining Project Update: Month 2


divider-1024.png

It’s been two months since I started mining on my new Baikal Cube 300 MH/s and it’s already paid more than half its price. More details below.

This second month of my Dash Home Mining Experiment I have been focusing mostly on mining just Dash. However, for about 10 days or so, I was mining MUE and then selling it on Bittrex for Bitcoin, every time MUE’s price spiked. Which, luckily for me, happened quite a few times this past month. All in all I have mined 1560 MUE and sold it for ₿0.058. The rest of my mining earnings were in Dash, namely 1.015 DASH.

All in all, in two months since I started mining on Cube, my total earnings so far have totalled at:

  • ₿0.073 (as I have sold some of the earlier mined Dash for Bitcoin),
  • 3.14 DASH.

Considering today’s price of BItcoin and Dash, I have already made two-thirds of my original investment in Cube, in Swedish crowns (SEK). However, as I paid for the miner in Bitcoin, it’ll take a while longer to recover the equivalent of the original Bitcoin investment. Still, I’m very happy with this crafty little miner!

My Baikal Cube

And a few quick words on the state of my Bitcoin Home Mining Experiment: as the air temperatures in Sweden had hit 20˚C / 70˚F, the Spondoolies SP30 miner became too hot to keep running even at half capacity (with only one power cord plugged into the PSU). So I decided that my old trusty ‘Yukon’ should take a summer break and I temporarily retired it from the mining operation – until the cold weather returns in September or October. Up until now it has earned me ₿0.4769, which constitutes 86.7% of the price I paid for it. Not bad!

My SpondooliesTech SP30 ‘Yukon’

As always, all your questions, suggestions and comments are very much appreciated! Leave them below and I’ll get back to you asap.
divider-1024.png


Sort:  

Hi bro @oleg326756 May I know where did you buy that miner? And how much does it consume electricity much or no? seems interesting.

I bought it directly from Baikal (the manufacturer), on their website. It consumes 60 Wt, like an old incandescent light bulb.

Hey ,great one , this is what I looking for.😎

This interests me a great deal. Thank you for sharing the details.

Nice how hard is it to get this up and running how do you do the setup doesn't look like you have a computer in there?

It was actually very easy to set up and took me less than 15 minutes. You connect it to your ordinary personal computer if it’s on the same network (LAN). Check this post of mine for details and for the installation video I made.

Thanks for sharing, the Bakail cube looks like a sweet investment! I assumed that it couldn't be profitable to mine Dash, but I suppose the X11 algorithm is ASIC resistant, so something like your cube would be the most efficient way to do it. Happy mining and keep sharing content like this!

Thank you for your feedback and the words of encouragement! Yes, thanks to the recent spike in the price of Dash and the ongoing ‘global X11 ASIC drought’, coupled with ‘global mining GPU drought’, it is a profitable venture indeed. And, as Dash keeps its steady climb, it will become all the more profitable as the time goes by. Dash to the Moon! :D

Nice, it sounds like you got some hardware that's difficult to come by! When Dash goes to the moon, we'll both be rich :)

I think it might come sooner than we think. I’m betting on the Evolution’s release by the end of this year.

And yes, the Cube was difficult to obtain. And I think I got lucky with the Yukon – for the price I paid for it. Are you mining yourself?

I only mine for fun with a low end GPU and some USB Scrypt sticks. Most of my income is from masternodes, so I am all in on Dash!

You own Dash masternodes??!! You are my hero!! It also means you are reach already! lol

Timing is everything with crypto, whether it's getting rare mining equipment before everyone else or, in my case, developing an obsession with Dash back when it was called Darkcoin and was selling for $5 ;). Crypto is the best.

bra jobbat :)

Tack tack! ;)

Quite nerd XD

Haha, guilty as charged! :D :-P

Thats an awesome looking miner! Congrats to you for almost making your return on investment.

Thank you! Making ROI on my first Bitcoin miner is almost an expected bonus. I bought it mainly to learn about Blockchain, mining, pools and so on – and, oh boy, what a great learning experience it has been! Worth much more than the money I spent on it / made with it.

The second miner, the tiny beautiful Cube with bought with a clear goal of making money by mining Dash and other coins and of increasing my holdings of Dash – a cryptocurrency in whose potential I strongly believe in.

It's really fun playing around with right? I used to mine back in the day with 2 gpu's bitcoin. Never knew it would go this big. Could kick myself now thinking at one point I owned over 10 bitcoins. Should have sticked to it and saved it. Was young and just messing around though. Didnt know mich about investing or coins.

Are you planning on getting more miners? I also like Dash. Have a smal mining contract mining a bit for me...

Yeah, I tried mining on my laptop back in 2012, but it was already too slow by then. So I didn’t get into mining seriously until last fall, when I came across a sales offer on that ‘Yukon’.

I have a few contracts with Genesis Mining, cloud-mining ZCash, Monero and Dash. Most of them are profitable already, after just six months. I wish I invested more in them last fall. Their profitability jumped up recently, when the entire cryptosphere market cap increased tremendously.

Oh yes, I would love me a few more Cubes or, ideally, a Cube Quad or two… If only it wasn’t a major headache getting one’s hands on one. Baikal is a very difficult company to order from. Even to get this one Cube that I now happily own was a very time-consuming and nerve-wrecking experience. Only my persistence made it possible.

Glad ur mining exeriences are going well. Sound really cool. I also wish I invested more. That cube looks pretty amazing yes. I have not seen a miner like that before. I only know the antminer series. Hehe.. For now I'm just going to invest as much as I can into steemit and enjoy the ride. Know it is going to take some time. But it's ok. Hard work will eventually pay off i hope.

It always does. Hard work, smart work, persistency and faith in yourself (not caring what others think/say about you and your ideas) = recipe for success in life.

Baikal miners are state-of-the-art machines. Energy-efficient (mine consumes 60 Wt only), compact, light, quiet and crazy profitable at the moment. The only problem – it’s hard to obtain them. They go for double and triple price on eBay from resellers. And there are scammers too, who pose as Baikal.

I still need to get a handle about not caring about what everyone thinks or says. Will slowly get it.

Yeah I never heard of those miners before. What's the hashrate on yours?

It’s 300–310 MH/s, mining on X11, Quark, Qubit, X13, X14 and X15 algorithms. So it’s not directly comparable with Bitcoin’s mining algorithm and Bitcoin miners’ hashrate. You cannot mine Bitcoin on it, only DASH, MUE and a whole bunch of other coins and assets based on the algorithms listed above.

thanks buddy for such useful information... :)

Thank you for finding it useful and thank you for your comment, mate!

Great post, followed.

Thank you very much! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68548.71
ETH 3847.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73