So I pre ordered a Ledger Nano S...

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

With several thousand dollars in altcoins, spread across several different wallets, (Mycelium, Coinbase, MyEthereumWallet) I finally decided to invest in a hardware wallet.

I did my research and I purchased (pre ordered actually) the Ledger Nano S. I like the fact that it has an integrated screen so it does not need to be connected to the internet to be set up. When you use a hardware wallet like the Nano S, the recovery phrase is generated offline and displayed on the Nano S’s screen, which ensures that the recovery phrase is never on an internet-connected device.

The screen provides an extra layer of verificaiton when sending payments, it easy to confirm that the payment you’d like to send is for the correct amount and to the right address.

Other than security, of course, I'm please with the wide variety of coins that the Nano S supports, including:

  • Ark

  • Bitcoin

  • Bitcoin Cash

  • Bitcoin Gold

  • Ethereum/ Ethereum Classic

  • Expanse

  • Dash

  • Digibyte

  • Dogecoin

  • Hcash

  • Komodo

  • Litecoin

  • Neo

  • Pivx

  • PoSW

  • Qtum

  • Stealthcoin

  • Stellar

  • Stratis

  • Ubiq

  • Vertcoin

  • Viacoin

  • XRP

  • Zcash

All this for a price of 79 Euros or $100 USD

Read more here:
https://www.buybitcoinworldwide.com/wallets/ledger-nano-s/

Supported-altcoins-by-Ledger.png

Thank you for checking in.
Please upvote and follow.
~Leticia @nytowl

Sort:  

congrats, investing in security is always a good investment 👍 Crypto currencies are teaching us to be more cautious about security, which is a good thing.

Thanks. It seems like everyday I read another story about another hack where thousands of coins are stolen from legitimate institutions or phone based apps. I've been smart about trades, and mostly invested solids coins so I don't want to lose it all to a hacker. I have phone based wallets so I try to stay off of public Wi-Fi, but I'm needed to more...unfortunately the next batch of Ledger wallets doesn't ship until the end of March.

I think i also gonna buy one. Thanks for the information.

Are they resistant to water? I need to get one.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78