You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is it really a crypto bubble? - Genuine value vs. forced value

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

you are forced to pay a cut of every transaction you do to the government in Euros. This is how the state creates demand for the Euro.

This is contradicting. If I had a choice I would buy/sell in a currency for which I don't have to pay tax of course.

Sort:  

Could you explain that a bit more? It doesn't matter in which currency you trade. If you have to pay tax, the state demands you better pay in their issued currency, regardless of which currency you use.
For example, I can sell my wares in America for dollars, but if the state forces me to pay taxes, I need to pay them in euros. So, I have to 'buy' euros, thus creating more demand for them.
With Bitcoin you can avoid taxes because it's fairly anonymous, of course, but here in the Netherlands the law requires you to pay capital gains tax over it in euros. It's the same idea.

Sure but they can't if they cannot prove you made the transaction in the first place. They cannot force you either, check out the website dereunie.info I've met with these guys. Also @kencode is a very cool guy, they make the Blockpay app btw! You can buy stuff in stores by paying in crypto. It works on bitshares.

That's true, but imagine how that would work out. For months you pretend you don't make any money and all of a sudden you buy a house worth half a million euros. Do you think nobody is going to notice at the government?
Do you know about the Toine Manders case? They don't have evidence of any crimes, but they basically ruined his career because they suspect him of tax evasion.

Blockpay sounds really cool! I'll check it out.

I didn't hear about the Toine Manders case. Yep trust is key but the government... I actually think Steem is a step in the right direction, you earn a reputation, Steem Power... those are really valuable things you cannot buy erm expect for SP yikes!

I folllow @kencode for Blockpay related news. I think he's either the CEO or main project manager.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 58495.77
ETH 2579.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44