Mining Cryptocurrency. The Beginning of the Beginning.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago (edited)

About three weeks ago, I had no idea what I was getting myself into.

I had no idea mining Cryptocurrency was a thing, and I had no idea I would be so obsessed and fully engaged in a new passion.

First Haul.jpg

I was approached by a friend who told me to throw all of my money into Ethereum.

I told him I would read up on it, with the thought in my head that most people just use Cryptocurrency to purchase bad things on the internet. Oh dear, was I wrong...

I never knew there was an even better way to spend MORE time glued to my monitor...

I dug deep. And 15 days ago I purchased a minuscule amount of various coins, just so see if anything would move.

They did. All of them did.

It became real when I saw my ETH and Golem wallets' "USD" amount increase. That was all I needed to know what to do next.

17 days ago I learned that mining coins and altcoins was possible. I felt like I had missed the biggest opportunity to participate in future. Until I realized, this is the beginning of the end of the beginning. If I was going to have any chance to join in on this rise it would be now.

14 days ago I purchased equipment to build a ETH/Altcoin dual mining rig with 6x MSI GTX 1060's. All of the cards from a local computer store, and a bunch of old mining frames and boards from someone on Craigslist. His wife made him sell everything to fund their destination wedding! 0_0

19489298_10156293520017589_1371664886_n - Copy.jpg

The following days led to me finding as many decent GPU's as I could. I added a few to the team, 3 GTX 1070's, 1 280x, 1 Radeon 480 and 1 Radeon 580.

Cards Tower.jpg

In total, there are 4 rigs with 3 cards each.

When I first tried assembling carts for my build, I was shocked to see almost everything I needed being sold out in almost every store I searched. This was a bit of a shocker, and it definitely opened my eyes to seeing that there are WAY more people involved in this than I could have ever imagined! Finding GPU riser cables that weren't coming from China was a task of its own!

Finally after everything was built and computing, I got my first earnings payout and I melted. THIS IS REAL. THERE ARE PEOPLE WHO NEED YOUR COMPUTING POWER ON THE INTERNET!

ETH Pool.jpg

ETH estimated calculations

ETH Calculator.jpg

SIA estimated calculations

SIA Calculator.jpg

One 1070 3 card rig

3 1070s.jpg

All in all, I cannot talk to my friends about this because they all just call me crazy. Would anyone be interested in a weekly vlog? I need somewhere to talk about my new passion and Steemit seems to be the perfect outlet!

Sort:  

Great job man, keep it up!

You got any 1060s to spare? Our store got bought out. Clerk said it was two fat guys with ponytails wearing minecraft shirts. Guess we were just too slow! Bastards are probably mining Ethereum like crazy right now.

Haha fits the description of every guy i've seen at Micro Center since I started mining!

Unfortunately the one's I am using are only 3gb (ALL I COULD FIND) and i'm scared of the DAG memory size that everyone is saying will soon only be able to be compatible with 4GB cards and above!

I wish I could buy more cards! They are sold out everywhere and the only available ones are from resellers that are gouging everyone who wants them!

Thank you for your kind words! I hope to keep it growing! It's steady mining about .2 ETH per 2 days. 10 Days to get a full Ether. Will be giving you a follow! Have a great day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 60833.36
ETH 3370.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49