I can help you get your BitcoinCash (BCH) if you kept your Bitcoins before a hardfork in MultiBit HD wallet, you lost your seed but you still have password to your wallet.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Recent BitcoinCash price movement finally motivated me, to hack a little bit around Multibit HD wallet, which I unfortunately decided to use some time ago.

Before Bitcoin and BitcoinCash fork happen, everyone was saying to not keep your Bitcoin on exchanges. Conclusion was simple: if you had Bitcoins in your wallet, you should be able to claim later your BitcoinCash, after the fork.

I didn't had time back then, so I didn't make enough research about those things before a fork happen... so few days after the fork, I decided to finally export private keys from Multibit HD wallet... and I was really surprised, that Multibit HD do not have such option!

To clarify, if you have your 12 words (a seed) which was generated for you by Multibit HD wallet, then you should be able to use those words in other BitcoinCash wallets, to claim your BCH. Then this is piece of cake:

My problem was, that I lost a seed

Before I realize my lose, that was not a big problem for me, because every user even without those 12 words can still manage own BTC, as long as it has backup of a wallet and password to it.

But by default user without a seed cannot export private keys, to claim own BitcoinCash. That was my problem.

But don't worry, there is a hope! Or even better - solution :)

I knew, that if I can still manage my Bitcoin, this mean, that wallet still have my private keys (obviously), so I just needed to figure out the way how to extract those private keys. But be default those private keys are encrypted.

As you can read from https://multibit.org/hd0.4/files.html

Wallets

All wallets are stored encrypted in directories of the form mbhd-[some long number] as follows:

  • mbhd.wallet.aes - This is the main wallet file containing your private keys and transactions.

The easiest way to extract those keys was described here.

Basically, by adding 2 lines of code here:

log.info("HACK address: " + signingAddress.toString());
log.info("HACK private key: " + decryptedSigningKey.getPrivateKeyAsWiF(networkParameters));

to original sources of MultiBit HD, we can modify a wallet in a way, that after manual compilation of such modified sources, console would be able to log out proper private key:

You don't need me, but I can help you if you want

With such description, a programmer with basic knowledge should be able to use those steps to claim your BitcoinCash (BCH). But I know, that not everyone is a software developer - that's why I am sharing this post.

If you would like to get my help to claim your BCH, in theory I could do that, by I would need your encrypted wallet files and your Multibit HD password - and that should be a big concern to you.

If you would have any Bitcoin (BTC) still in your wallet, then in theory I could still those BTC. To minimize risk, before sending me a wallet, you should move all your BTC from that wallet, to another wallet. In this way you would hand to me a wallet with 0 BTC and some amount of BCH, which I can help you extract.

But I sill could run away with your BCH

Yes, that is true - you should not trust random guy from the internet. So if you know how to do everything, please try do everything on your own.

But If I am your last hope, I would just remind you, that I was this guy who made WhiteHat Hack on Steemit in July 2017 - so I think I already proved, that I prefer to do good things, rather than stealing money :)

If you would like to contact me, you can do that on https://steemit.chat/direct/noisy or on facebook: https://www.facebook.com/krzysztof.szumny :)

Sort:  

Great job helping people dumb that JihanCoin :)

This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Resteem your post just send 0.100 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo. We have over 3000+ followers. Take our service to reach more People.

Pro Plan: just send 1 SBD or Steem with your post url on memo we will resteem your post and send 10 upvotes from our Associate Accounts.

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62276.80
ETH 3005.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62