You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Smartbridge vs. Atomic Swaps

I'm a huge fan of ARK so +1 on that....

But I'm confused by your Atomic Swap comment. I literally thought the point of the atomic swap was to be able to switch coins.

Literally Charlie Lee has been tweeting this week about all the swaps he did:

-LTC & VTC
-LTC & DCR
-LTC & BTC

What am I missing here? Help me learn this because now I'm confused lol.

Sort:  

Ok, I'm glad you brought that up as my language is obviously unclear. I'll go back and edit that to better clarify. What I meant to say was, the coins must be agreed upon at the time of exchange. In other words, you couldn't just decide to receive all bitcoin incoming transactions as Ethereum. You would be deciding to swap for one coin or another at the time of the exchange with the sender. Where as in ARK you can actually decide independent of the sender which coin you would like to receive. I can see where I was unclear, and I will go back and restate that the way I meant it to sound : ).

Also, on that topic, I would like to add that any currency forked from the Bitcoin codebase will be able to adopt Atomic swaps very easily, while currencies not forked from the Bitcoin codebase will require a lot more to adopt this functionality. So, it's not too terribly far off to assume that transactions like BTC > ETH might never happen to begin with.

Ahhh ok. cool I get it now!

And thanks for the post because I've never heard of smartbridge before now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58450.19
ETH 2652.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43