Tips for Teaching Teenagers Cryptocurrency / Blockchain?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Next week, I'll begin teaching some of my students (Business Spanish class) class about Cryptocurrency, the differences between Crypto and Fiat money and the concept of the Blockchain.

In our pre-assessment, none of the 15 teenage students had heard of Bitcoin or any other Cryptocurrencies. Many of them mentioned that their families send money home via expensive transfers. This technology can really help their lives.


(image via LinkedIn)

I've gathered some resources in Spanish and English and I'll be using my own experience, but I'm sure there is some fantastic stuff out there that I'm missing. All students have access to Chromebooks.

If you have any interesting stories, videos, articles that you think could really catch they eyes/ears of a teenager, please share in the comments below!

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the first half of Apr 10. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $0.20 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 10 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

It's a tough subject even for adults - I know I still struggle to wrap my head around aspects of blockchain. You'll probably catch their interest more with a storytelling style - the story of the 10,000 bitcoin pizza is an awesome myth, as is the anonymity of Satoshi. Get them hooked on the idea, and the ones who are feeling ambitious will be able to take advantage of resources like coindesk and ilk to learn more.

But I'm not a teacher, so I could be way off base.

Thanks for the advice. The pizza story is a great hook.

That's a cool way to spread the word @nepd!!!

I'd recommend introducing them to some of the videos by @bitcoinmeister (Adam), @crypt0 (Omar), and @marketingmonk (Chris).

Thank you @cognoscre -- Will definitely check out their videos!

nice thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69360.20
ETH 3674.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.24