Upload files to Storj using FileZillasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

FileZilla

FileZilla is a cross-platform FTP client and also supports Storj. It seems one of the easiest way to use Storj.

I tried to upload files from my Mac to Storj using FileZilla. It worked well but names of uploaded file were broken on https://app.storj.io/

FileZilla

I opened FileZilla and click the button in the upper-left corner to open the site manager.

Site manger

I then set the following information on the boxes:

  • Host: api.storj.io
  • Port: 443
  • Protocol: Storj
  • Logon Type: Normal
  • User: your user name
  • Password: your password
  • Encryption Key: your encryption key

Since I had not generated a secret key, I clicked “Generate” button to create a secret key.

Then, I clicked “connect” button and FileZilla showed a list of buckets in my Storj account.

Uploading files

Next, I created a bucket named “test” in FileZilla, and open Storj’s web application https://app.storj.io/ in my browser.

Bucket list

As the above screen shot shows, the created bucket name wasn’t “test” and it looks a base64 encoded data. I tried to decode it but I couldn’t find what it means.

Creating a bucket

I also tried to create a bucket, named “test2”, on the web application.

Checking the created bucket

The bucket created on the web application was shown in FileZilla and the name was not broken.

Finally, I uploaded a file to bucket test2 and checked it on the web.

Uploaded file

The name of uploaded file was also like base 64 encoded string.

I uploaded a 2MB file and it took about 40 sec in my ADSL network. However, when I tried to upload bigger files, errors happened and finally I couldn’t upload them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 59049.70
ETH 2618.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44