MY FIRST TIME MINING CRYPTOCURRENCY COINSsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Last week was @myfirstime trying to mine cryptocurrency coins and my learning curve shot up exponentially. I decided to learn more about mining cryptocurrency especially because I now have a laptop with an NVIDIA 1060GTX and thought I'd might as well join in the hype and start mining something. For a newbie like me, trying to figure out what that SOMETHING was like finding a needle in a haystack. There was so much information out there and then after reading so many forum posts and I just decided to perform my own some trial and error to see which coins I should mine.

So what Cryptocurrency did I mine?

Verium

The first one that I tried was Verium. I tried this before receiving the new laptop.  I had an Intel PC with no NVIDIA card and Verium uses CPU to mine the coins. The setup and process was quite simple. Just install the wallet and press the mine button.

After looking at some of the stats, I realised it was going to take too long to mine a coin. 

The Mining stats reported 121 days to mine a block!! I gave up as soon as I saw that message. 

Verge

The next Cryptocurrency coin I decided to mine was Verge. I can't recall why I decided to mine this coin, it could have been from reading a post on reddit. In any case, I wanted to give this a go and had to read up on how to mine verge coins. I used this guide How To Mine Verge Cryptocurrency Coins

After following those instructions (approx.  30 minutes), I was actually mining Verge Coins. I left the laptop on when I used it for work and had the mining application running in the background. It accumulated approx 80 verge coins in the past week. In the guide it mentioned about transfeering the Verge coins to an exchange so I tried that as well  List of Cryptocurrency Exchanges and Fees

Now I'm left with 5 Verge coins in my wallet and the rest are on the exchange.

On average, I was also able to mine 1 Verge coin for every hour at 5600kH/s

I'm not sure how long I will be mining verge coins but it seems to be pretty profitable at the moment - each block has a reward of 1500 coins and the difficulty is not as high compared to the others (around 6000).

What was my initial thoughts about mining - it's tough work at the beginning trying to figure out what to do and how to do it but after that you don't really need to do much except for checking to make sure the miner program is running in the background.

I did learn about, pools, blockchains, ccminer, transaction IDs, verge explorer and how to send Verge coins to the exchange so I'm pretty happy about this.

Also, I tried mining LUX coins but the rewards were not as good as Verge, therefore  I'm sticking with verge for now until someone tells to stop and switch to another cryptocurrency. 

I look forward to your feedback thanks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57020.43
ETH 3081.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41