The top 5 most mispronounced cryptocurrency names - or are they?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

How do YOU pronounce these popular cryptocurrency names?

Face it, you can’t get enough crypto talk, crypto news, crypto podcasts, and crypto videos. You probably notice a lot of variation in the ways some hosts pronounce the names of these cryptocurrencies.
This is just a fun list of the 5 most-alternatively pronounced cryptos I see. Drum roll, please...

5. PIVX

Most people I see pronounce this as a word, not the letters separately. Is it “Piv-iks” or “Piv-eks”?

4. Iconomi

Is it “economy”, “I(long)-ka-na-me”, “e(long)-ka-na-me”, or “e-ka-na-mi(long i)”

3. Siacoin

Is it “See-a-“ (like the singer) or “Si(long)-a’”


See-ya.

2. Golem


This is Gollum. He’s a character from The Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit. I doubt that the founders of this coin wanted anyone to think of that.

A Golem (pronounced “GO-lehm”), according to Wikipedia is “In Jewish folklore, an animated anthropomorphic being that is magically created entirely from inanimate matter (specifically clay or mud). The word was used to mean an amorphous, unformed material in Psalms and medieval writing.”

Could this be what that founders intended, that their global supercomputer would come to life with the power of the networked machines?

1. Dogecoin

And at number one is everyone’s favorite fun coin. There are so many users of this coin I’m willing to guess there isn’t consensus. “Doggy Coin” makes sense when it relates to the “Doge” meme (a deliberate misspelling). Most crypto YouTube personalities I see call it “Doje (long O)”. I’ve even heard some call it “Doyj” (long O).

So, how do YOU pronounce these coin names?

Sort:  

Tomato (USA) or Tomato ( UK)....both are correct, but your post deals with fun facts that offer an amusing distraction.

I was singing "Let's Call the Whole Thing Off" in my head while I wrote this post.

those coin can be complicated to pronounce some times,the first day a friend introduces siacoin to me,i'm like what? Is SIA the musician into cryptocurrency too?lol for me i pronounce them the way it's sound.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67