You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Electroneum Mining on Mobile & Laptops.. Do or Not Do ? That is the Question

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

When mining with mobile phone, tablet or laptop, you should never use all the cores for mining. That way the device doesn't run as hot as when running on all cores... What matters is finding the right pool to mine on, as some pools have lousy returns and others have better... You need to count the number of blocks found and divide it by the hours the pool has been online. Most ETN pools have statistics pages that give the numbers to use for that calculation. Normal rate of blocks is 30 per hour for whole network and closer you get to that, the better the pool is.

Sort:  

good point @mtl1979 It's never a good idea to run all cores for any task and you're right some mining pools perform much better than others. I think my point was that there's a very small profit to be had from using your own regular kit. my laptop is a really nice machine and I wouldn't want to use it to make a few pennies with, while shortening it's life span. I have older machines which I could use but it seems mining is a speculative business. the pennies may or may no turn into something bigger as the coins appreciate or depreciate along the way !! someone's gotta mine those coins tho'.

I'm mining on 5 low-end devices and that is barely profitable when I combine mining and trading.

well you never know, you might hit it lucky with some cheap mined coins which go boom later on. people were mining 100 bitcoins per day at one point when the network was in it's infancy ! that's £500,000k per day if you wind the clock forward to today

The problem currently is that I don't have enough coins to take big risks, so I miss some of ups and downs waiting for buy and sell limits to be filled. I can't deposit enough coins to HitBTC because they're doing technical maintenance and some coins are disabled. When the maintenance is over I should have about 4.60 USD worth of coins waiting to be deposited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66683.89
ETH 3311.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70