Crypto on the Street- Crypto Awareness part 2!

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Today It happened- I sold a street magazine for ETH!!

If you think Crypto is a thing of the future, oh boy are you wrong, its right on our doorsteps bang hard on the front door ready to be embrassed with a big hug!

I like to be posting every now and then about how the level awareness about Crypto Currencies is on the streets in Oslo.
If you dont know already, I am selling the street magazine here in Norway and I have contact with around 1000 people each day I work. In norway people are choosing to pay more with "Vipps" - which is like crypto but uses your bank balance to send automatic NOK to others (its a crypto basically sendin NOK instantly) but also I have on my signs CRYPTO.
I recently changed the sign to be much more visable the word CRYPTO..

Today I decided to go to my morning spot after the lunch break instead, where the workers from a bank pass me and there are many other offices there, including the WAVE headquarters I believe as I recognized the building from their website.

I place the sign a good few meters before where I stand, as many people are just looking at the ground, and if they see the sign they look up to find me and have time to decide if they want to buy.

Today was awesome and had a great response from around 8 different people.


Strangely enough though- they were mostly women who had something to say as they were rushing past and when they said "wow thats cool about Cryptos" I would then say , "Would you like to buy a magazine with them",
and they all replied, "ah- I dont have any"..

I was shocked, at how many people are commenting on the word Crypto and think its "Cool", but dont actually have any. I havent watched or read any mainstream media in years, and dont see from that side, the "news", but I presume atleast theres more and more advertising of it appearing, but proberbly just from word of mouth between people. Oh and also I even saw that celebs are talking about crypto on twitter recently.

I hadnt been stood there that long, until a guy came towards me smiling with his mobile in his hand, and said "Your taking Cryptos?" in a very casual voice.. My reaction wasnt so casual, I said in English even not Norwiegen, "Yes! Cool! You will be the First!" Then he smiled and said "Im only coinbase, can we do it like that?" As we were stood there I told him im accepting many different coins, and asked what he would like to pay with.. He just flipped onto his CoinBase and he chose ETH.. I looked online to get the exchange rate to work out how much ETH which didnt go so smooth, but then it turns out its easy on coinbase as the guy showed me quickly on his phone. I used my Bitpie wallet and it was smooth with the QR Code.

100KR (The cost of the magazine) was at the time 0.0142 ETH


Whilst we were doing the transaction, I saw a young woman looking at the second sign which is more my style, and I think it was hers too as she was dressed "artistically"!

She came and said Hi and I asked her if she would take a photo of me and Sebastian, which she did so gladly. She said she wanted to buy a magazine just because I was accepting Cryptos, but she paid of course with the Vipps as she didnt have any crypto.
Heres the picture of me and Seb.(below)
I of course told them both about Steemit and showed them the logo and my profile, and the girl downloaded the Esteem app there and then and Seb found it and went to choose a user name but then said he would do it later.
We swapped emails because he sent me the pic of us both and I hope to hear from him again.
Lets see if he replies and becomes a Steemian!!


Its definatly becoming known!

And im exited for the weather to atleast have no ice or snow on the ground and be ready to to a good Steem-Promo event. Nowiegens when they are drunk are much more sociable and easier to approach.. in fact they even approach you after a beer or two!! So i think it will be done on a weekend.
I will be given (from the universe) someone with a video camera, and the skills to use it, and an editor afterwards to make some great video of it all. Plus I will be given (again, from the universe) people who will willingly get on the streets making peaceful commotion with loudspeakers and I dont know, some huge mobile stand thing going up and down the biggest street on the weekend nights with lights and music. EPIC steem promo time!
The police here dont mind people doing stuff in the streets so its no problem there.

Well we will see, I really dont mind to go do it myself , but at-least need a video person as well!!

Hope you enjoyed an original post and LONG LIVE CRYPTO!! PEER TO PEER! UpVote and resteem if you like Original Content, hate banks, and prey for a solar flare to hit the earth..

BIG LOVE!

Sort:  

Vipps is the absolute opposite of Crypto!

Vipps is a bank-controlled proprietary solution, with the sole purpose of becoming the de-facto standard for payments in Norway, and unfortunately it seems like they are succeeding.

A customer of Vipps has far fewer rights than a customer of a bank account.

I'm blacklisted from Vipps - my Vipps just stopped working after selling crypto over Vipps.

Well digital payment method is then a better word my bad! Hihi you rebel! I'm back at work away from city.. I'll message ya tomorrow

Hell yeah! I like your enthusiasm!

1.jpg

Lets gooo

You got a 8.45% upvote from @bid4joy courtesy of @movingman!

You got a 1.45% upvote from @nado.bot courtesy of @movingman!

Send at least 0.1 SBD to participate in bid and get upvote of 0%-100% with full voting power.

This post has received a 2.4 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @movingman

You got a 17.90% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @movingman!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63869.25
ETH 3055.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88