New Ryzen PC Build

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago

Ryzen Cover 2.jpg

Line Break.png

Planning My New PC Build

So I'm in the process of shopping for a new PC as my current one is so old, I literally have no idea how it still works?

Thanks to some really awesome guy, who is helping me and has also suggested I go with the new Ryzen CPU's, and after doing some research, I found out this is really hardcore tech. I was blow any after watching some youtube video reviews on the Ryzen. This is totally the CPU I want for my new computing beast.

The motherboard I have decided to go, was pretty much built for the new Ryzen chips, the Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7. So far everything has been going well until I got to which graphics card would best accompany my new system. I would obviously like to have the option on also being able to mine some crypto with it. This is a whole new rabbit whole to go down in, so I thought it best to asks those who have gone before me, for some suggestions.

amd-ryzen-7-1700-processor-1000px-v2.jpg
source

Line Break.png


"A wise man changes his mind, a fool never will." - Proverbs


2017021610381208_src.png
source

Line Break.png

So here is what I currently has selected to buy:
  • AMD Ryzen 7 1700 Processor with Wraith Spire LED Cooler
  • Gigabyte GA-AX370-Gaming K7 Ryzen AM4 AMD Motherboard
  • Samsung 960 EVO Series - 500GB NVMe - M.2 Internal SSD
  • Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB RAM

Then I have to decided between either one of the following:

  • 2x Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1050 Ti

*Gigabyte Geforce GTX 1070

I'm not sure which of these two options would be the best for some casual crypto mining from time to time. I think it would be pretty nice to have a machine that can mine crypto while I'm not using it. When you think about it how many hours during your day do you not actually use your PC.

GTX-1050Ti-Mining-Hashrates.png
source

GTX-1070-Mining-Hashrates.png
source

I would really appreciate someone in the know, who could advise me on the best options regarding GPU.

I found this awesome graph at the top here, and I feel drawn more towards the 1070, but the current price is nothing under $660, which is pretty steep for a graphics card. Damn those pesky miners.

Bad Feeling Tag.png

btf.gif

Thanks for popping in, hope you liked the post. Please leave me your thoughts and or opinions in the comments below, have a beautiful day.

Line Break.png

• For the best posts on food and all things beautiful follow my @princessmewmew

• For those who love the the open road and the road less traveled follow @velimir
• The reason I joined this platform was thanks to one guy, the infamous @jeffberwick
• One of the first blogs I ever read when I joined steemit, great content @gavvet
• If you love a good laugh and all things Star Wars follow @thedarksideshow

Line Break.png

untilnexttime 2.png

Line Break.png

Adsactly Banner New.jpg

Proudly powered by ADSactly - click this image above to join our discord server - Make sure to visit our ADSactly Society Steemit blog

Vote @adsactly-witness for your witnesses here.

✯ ✯ ✯

Mork Logo.png

✯ Follow me for more fun ✯

Sort:  

Hey Morkrock, great post! I'm very happy to hear you've chosen to go with an AMD Ryzen cpu!
I'm currently in the process of saving up to upgrade my fx8300 to a Ryzen as well. In fact, I was thinking of choosing the same exact motherboard too. I really like the orange accents (which can be turned off), and have become a fan of Aurous products (even though I've never owned one). I'd go with an Asus board if it didn't seem like they had some issues, but from my research is appears most Ryzen boards have some issues to some degree. But, again, from my research, it seems like these Gigabyte boards are one of the best choices right now, for under $200.
Personally, if you can hold out and save an extra $20-30, go with the Ryzen 1700x. Even before the Ryzen 2 cpus were announced and AMD cut the prices on Ryzen 1, I consistently saw the 1700x at $300 or $290, the original MSRP of the regular 1700. You'll get a bit more clock speed without having to overclock yourself (which I'd probably rather not mess with myself), and imo, the 1700x will have a better resale value because you have the "more badA" chip.
As for your question on the graphics card, here is my 2¢: go with the 1070 man. While the 1050ti is a solid card, you'll be much happier with the 1070 in the long run. You'll have better day to day performance, better thermals (2 cards will produce more heat and be harder to dissipate), likely have better hash rate, AND have better resale value later on. In all likely hood, you'll get a better stack of cash for the one card in say 2-3 years than you will from the 2 cards in the same time. My reasoning? I have a 960 2gb and isn't worth what my 980ti is, obviously. My point being, more powerful cards hold their value better. I also didn't mention with the 1070 you'll have more VRAM, which will help with high resolution gaming, modding, and other related things.
The 1070 is definitely pricey right now like all cards, but if you can get a 3rd party card like an EVGA, Gigabyte, or Asus you'll be doing good. I bought my 980ti used for like $250 years ago (yes, I got a slammin deal, along with using some Amazon gift card money), which was far less than brand new. If you feel comfortable with buying used, go for it. Nowadays it may be best to buy new since you can't be sure how used a card really is.

Overall, I think you are on the money with your build! You have the NVME which will be blisteringly fast, good RAM (which is also expense these days), and a solid decision between good graphics. No matter whether you choose to go with the 1700 or 1700x, I think you'll be very satisfied. Perhaps look into a liquid cooler in a few months or so, it's what I'd be using if I had a Ryzen right now.

P.S. Do note that from my research, if you go with a 1700x, you won't get the wraith cooler. When I was doing some searching around I couldn't find a 1700x that included the cooler, so keep that in mind if you go that route, that you'll need an aftermarket cooler. Best of luck with your build, happy gaming!

Thank you so much for the great advice, really appreciate you taking the time. There is a CPU and motherboard combo on this specific board but with the 1700x chip, but as you said it comes without the cooler, and to be honest I have never installed in liquid cooler before. I have built many a pc, but it kinda scares me a lil lol, don't think it can be too hard, and I have absolutely no idea even which cooler to choose on that build. That's why I thought to rather go with the 1700 which come with the wraith cooler, and I watched a few reviews, and it's pretty badass. Thanks for the tip on the GPU, yeah I was leaning more towards the 1070, but good gad they're pricing.

No problem my friend! I'd definitely lunge for a combo if you can snag it, just be sure to check warranty information! I'm not sure if the warranties on the two items would be different if sold together, but it'd be something I'd look at. I'd also take a look at adding an extended warranty of some kind depending on the price, but sometimes on PC hardware it can be $100+ so would be a decision for sure.
And definitely man, do what makes you feel more comfortable in terms of cooling. The wraith is more than adequate and does a solid job from what I've read. Closed loop liquid coolers these days seem about as easy as most regular air coolers, just a large black slab to screw in; however choosing an AIO (all in one) can be hard with so many choices! I say rock the Wraith!
Enjoy that sweet gaming glory! All hail the master race! All hail the master race!

Eh, I was really excited when they announces the ryzen chip but I would honestly just recommend you go with an i7 7700k or the i7 8700k and the gtx 1070. You'll get better bank for the buck. Besides, if you have a amd processor and an nvidia graphics card some games may not work (especially rockstar games stuff).

That's what I essentially was going to do, but have spent the last few weeks watching reviews regarding the Ryzen 7, and it amazing for the work side of things etc. There are some pros and cons and because it's fairly new, I think it will eventually get better, I hope lol. It's also rather cheaper than intel from what I've seen.

This sound like so much fun. I have bought computers many times but always just bought what I liked in the store. I have never gone through the process of designing and building it from the ground up. You are totally getting to personalize you PC!!! Have you ever heard of the Sirin Labs products? They are building PC’s and Smartphones specifically to interact with the blockchain. It is eguipped with high security software and cold storage wallets. It’s super cool!!! I posted an article about it during my first two weeks here. Sadly I don’t hunk anyone saw it. Lol, maybe I should post it again.

(A wise man changes his mind, a fool never will)
nice proverbs.but the choices is yours decide now.

I so badly need to get a computer with some power. I am still running a MacBook Pro from 2013. Not that it is slow, but I can't really game on it. Plus editing video is a bit bogged down.

Yeah I'm on a Mac too, and not the best for gaming or mining

i really hope for you get the best choise bettween the both options . anyway i think the both have good things and bad things , So your choise depnts on your use .

I really like this, thanks for sharing,

a very good post

Do note that using your machine for crypto-mining really does take a toll on your graphics cards. I've busted two 660 ti's doing that a few years back, granted I did overclock them in the end :P

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94